Baked Pork Chops

Walt loves fried pork chops…..wait, I need to elaborate, Walt LOVES my mom’s way of frying pork chops.  So a few weeks ago when he walked into the kitchen on a Sunday afternoon and saw the pork chops frying on the stove top he got all excited, “Oh sweetie, fried pork chops I love fried pork chops.”

“Slow down Sparky” I chimed, I’m just browning them they are going in the oven.  A cloud, first the shade of confusion quickly darkened to disappointment.  I quickly explained they had to be browned before I baked them and he watched me transfer them to a baking dish and slide them in the oven.

An hour later just as I was getting ready to pour the sauce over them once again my dear husband came meandering into the kitchen (notice a pattern here).  “Whatcha doing?”  “I’m adding the sauce” I replied.  Frowning Walt continued “But I like them……”  “Crunchy, I know” I replied, and slid them back into the oven with the sauce.

Just about this time Joshua wandered up from the basement, “Watcha making grandma, it smells really good?”  “Baked pork chops” I replied, “want to try some with us?”  Now you would have to know Josh, unless it’s pizza or chicken strips he’s not having any of it.  “No thanks, but it smells good” Josh said and went on his way.  That little conversation was an indication that these chops were going to be amazing even though he had pizza on the grill.

I am happy to say that the final result was DELICIOUS!!  I hate to admit this in writing for all to see but I baked four (4) pork chops, served them with mashed potatoes……there were NO leftovers and only two of us ate them!!!

These pork chops were full of flavor and so moist!  Cut only with a fork, fall off the bone moist.  Try them they won’t disappoint and surely will become a family favorite.

As usual, I did make a few minor adjustments:

  • The recipe called for 6 pork chops I only made 4 good-sized chops
  • I used two cans of Golden Cream of Mushroom soup – they recommended regular Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • I used Crisco to pan fry not oil
BAKED PORK CHOPS
Baked Pork Chops
What You’ll Need:
4-6 bone-in pork chops about 1-1.5″ thick – DO NOT USE THICK CHOPS
1 tsp. Garlic Powder
1 tsp. Lawry Seasoning Salt
2 eggs beaten
1/4 – 1/2 cup flour
2 cup Italian Seasoned Bread Crumbs
2 cans Golden Mushroom Soup (Original recipe 1 can – Mushroom Soup)
1 soup can of milk (Original 1/2 can to 1 can soup)
2/3 cup white wine
1/4 cup Crisco (more or less depends on pan size)
Directions:
  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • Rinse pork chops, pat dry
  • Mix seasonings into flour
  • Dredge pork chops in flour, dip in egg, dredge in bread crumbs
  • Melt Crisco over medium high heat (drop a little bit of bread crumbs moistened with water into the Crisco to tell when it’s hot)
  • Add pork chops to pan and brown each chop for 5 minutes on each side.  Pork chops should be golden brown – place in 13×9 baking dish – cover with foil
  • Bake for 1 hour
  • In the meantime whisk together soup, milk and wine
  • After an hour take pork chops out of the oven and pour soup mixture over the top
  • Replace foil and bake for an additional 30 minutes
2 thoughts on “Baked Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

