Ranch Mashed Potatoes

Happy Monday everyone!  We’re coming out of a really great weekend, the new furnace and air conditioner were installed on Friday, Saturday Joshua and Kaylee hung out for a bit, we made a big batch of pasta, pizza and bread sticks!  Yesterday we went to Joshua’s first flag football game of the fall 2013 season and yes….we won!!  Busy, busy, busy!!

I know there are probably some who are wondering what’s so happy about a Monday, it’s the first day of the work/school week and usually the most dreaded day of week.  Well I look forward to my Mondays, I pick up Eric from school every Monday (Tuesday and Wednesday too) and we get some Eric and grandma time in before Eric heads off to spend some time with his daddy while his momma is working.  So, I no longer dread Monday’s.

Today I want to share with you my recipe for Ranch Mashed potatoes.  I hadn’t thought about using Ranch salad dressing in my mashed potatoes until one day my Wendy’s take out baked potato came back to the office without sour cream.  The office refrigerator didn’t have sour cream but it did have Ranch dressing packets so I used that instead and became addicted!!  To this day when I order a baked potato from Wendy’s I get a packet of ranch dressing instead of sour cream.

The chances that I will have Ranch dressing in my refrigerator far out weigh the chances that I will have milk.  We just don’t drink or use a lot of milk in fact when I buy milk I only buy a pint because I know we are not going to use it or drink it.

That’s exactly what happened one day long ago, I was making mashed potatoes and realized that I didn’t have enough milk but I did have Ranch dressing so I used the Ranch dressing instead and my potatoes became an instant favorite.

I love recipes that come from ingredients that I’m sure to always have in the house.  These potatoes are also great made ahead and reheated in the oven until warm.  Try them and ENJOY!!

RANCH MASHED POTATOES

Ranch Mashed Potatoes

What You’ll Need:

1.5 – 2.0 lbs. Idaho Potatoes – peeled

2-3 slices American Cheese (I use Kraft American Cheese)

2 tbsp. butter

1/4 Cup Ranch Dressing (I use Kraft Original Ranch – You can increase/decrease to preferrence)

Salt/Pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Place peeled potatoes in a sauce pan – cover with water – bring to a boil – let boil 15 to 20 minutes until potatoes are easily pierced with a fork – Drain
  • Add cheese, butter and Ranch dressing to the potatoes – place cover on pot until cheese melts
  • Mash with hand masher, not mixer
  • Serve
Leave a Reply

