Slow Cooker Chicken and Stuffing

Welcome to Monday everyone!!  Our perfect spring weather continues here in Michigan slowly, steadily wiping away our memories of cold, snowy, rainy, dismal days.  Days like today and the last two are what I look forward too once we get through the Christmas holidays….these are the days that I wait for and literally count down to.

Of course warmer temperatures has brought an increase in utilizing our bbq grill.  This past weekend we spent time outside in the yard cleaning up and uncovering things so a quick hot dog or burger as we moved through Saturday and Sunday was perfect for us and tasty.

Grilling though did bring up a quick conversation on whether or not to leave the slow cooker out or to put it in the cabinet downstairs for the summer.  For right now I’m opting to keep it out and use it at least once maybe twice a week during the summer.  My reasoning is to use it instead of the oven in order to keep the kitchen cool.

Today, I have a tasty slow cooker recipe for you.  When I first found this recipe and saved it I went back to it several times before deciding to give it a try.  I hesitated because I just wasn’t sure how well a stove top stuffing would turn out in a slow cooker I was afraid it would either be undercooked or that it would turn to mush.

I’m happy to say that this chicken and stuffing dish turned out fantastic and I’m happy to share it with you today.  The chicken was tender and the stuffing was nice and moist.  We served it with mashed potatoes and peas and it was a delicious meal.  Walt, not generally a fan of boxed stuffing gave it two thumbs up which means it will be a keeper in our house.

I found this recipe on http://team-t-adventures.blogspot.com/2010/01/easy-crockpot-chicken-stuffing.html through Pinterest.  Give it a try, let us know how it turns out for you.

 

Chicken and Stuffing

SLOW COOKER CHICKEN AND STUFFING

What You’ll Need:

4 thawed chicken breasts

1 6 oz. package of Stove Top Stuffing Mix

1/2 cup of sour cream

1/4 cup of water

1 can cream of chicken soup

Directions:

  • Spray you slow cooker with non-stick spray
  • Lay chicken breasts on bottom of slow cooker – Season (I used Lawry’s seasoning)
  • Open the envelope of stuffing and pour evenly over chicken (yes – uncooked)
  • Whisk sour cream, soup and water together in a small bowl
  • Pour the mixture evenly over the stuffing (you may have to spread it a little)
  • Cook on LOW 4 hours until chicken in cooked through
  • Fluff and serve

6 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken and Stuffing

  1. Looks like a great recipe! I still use the slow cooker during the summer for when I’m at work and to have dinner ready when I get home or sometimes when there’s yard work to do – I’ll make a BBQ rib or chicken in the slow cooker and when I done working… it’s ready! Thanks!

  2. I just tried this recipe for the first time today. Super easy and super, super good! My husband and I loved it.
    This will be one of our favorites!

    • Hi Chris, thanks for stopping by and leaving us a note. I’m all in for easy, especially on a Sunday afternoon! Glad you and your husband enjoyed this, it’s one of our favorites too.

Leave a Reply

