Destiny?

Destiny…..”The hidden power believed to control what will happen in the future; fate.”  I truly do believe that things happen for a reason; the detour, the lost keys, a last-minute change in routine.  Events that happen to either put us in the right place at the right time or events which happen to keep us from being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  When the outcome is positive it’s because it was meant to be, when the outcome is negative I believe it’s because we’re meant to learn something from it.  Some of us learn from those experiences…some of us don’t.

I was scheduled to start a new job on Friday with Home Depot as a sales associate.  Yesterday at 1:00 p.m. the human resources person for the location I’ll be working at called to confirm my appointment on Thursday to complete employment paperwork and confirm my orientation at a sister store on Friday.  At 2:00 p.m. the phone rang again and it was the HR person informing me that orientation has been cancelled and could potentially be scheduled for next week, she’ll call me back.  I inquired as to whether or not I should still come in on Thursday to fill out the papers and she said no.  She said that they were undergoing some “changes” and that I would be notified of a new orientation date.  I will admit I hung up confused, disappointed, frustrated and yes, I will admit, even a little angry.

Has destiny stepped in?  Is there a reason for this delay that will alter my future or is it making sure I’m not in the wrong place at the wrong time?  Will another position present itself to me in the next few days that I would rather accept?  Perhaps my job board stalking will finally pay off?  I know, now you’re wondering what a “job board stalker” is, let me explain; a job board stalker hangs out on all the popular job boards sites all day, each board open on the lap top and as soon as a job is posted, not yet one second old, you immediately hit the send button with your resume attached hoping your resume is at the top of the heap.

For whatever reason, I am not starting a new job this Friday.  Will I ever actually become a Home Depot employee?  Only my “destiny” knows what it has planned for me, I’ll wait and see what she has in store.  For now I’m still looking, still hopeful that my resume will spark interest with the right person, at the right time and for the right place.

Today I am going to leave you with a recipe for “Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew” which I found on http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Slow-Cooker-Chicken-Pot-Pie-Stew/Detail.aspx.  This recipe is great when you know you have a taste for chicken pot pie but know you won’t have time to whip one up when you get home after a long day.  Throw everything into the crock pot in the morning, come home and bake a roll of your favorite Pillsbury biscuits and you’ve got dinner on the table.

Of course I made some minor modifications to mine, well actually some major changes which is reflected in my recipe below.  The link above will take you to the original recipe on allrecipes.com. which inspired my version.  Enjoy!!

SLOW COOKER CHICKEN POT PIE STEW 

Slow cooker chicken pot pie

 What You’ll Need:

4 chicken breasts cut into cubes

5 large red potatoes – washed and chopped into small pieces

1 small onion chopped

2 cans Cream of Chicken Soup

1-2 cloves of garlic minced fine

1/2 tsp. Tarragon

1 – 16 oz. bag frozen mixed vegetables

1 can Pillsbury Country Style Biscuits

Directions:

  • Spray crock pot with cooking spray
  • Place into crock pot in this order; chicken, onions, garlic, potatoes
  • Mix tarragon with the cream of chicken soup and spread over the top of the potatoes in the crock pot
  • Cook on High for 5 hours
  • Add the bag of frozen mixed vegetables
  • Cook on High an additional hour
  • When ready, bake biscuits as directed on package
  • Serve pot pie stew over hot biscuits

Source: N. Rezich – adapted from allrecipes.com

One thought on “Destiny?

Leave a Reply

