Enough Already…..Come On Spring!!

We are ready for spring and we are ready for it to arrive NOW!  Our Joshie has been down for the count with pneumonia since last week, he just can’t seem to kick it.  Josh has spent most of the month of March with a cold, then upper respiratory infection and now pneumonia.  My little sweetie needs sunshine and warm weather to knock this out of him. and brighten his spirits.  I miss his smiling face, miss hearing his humming as he plays a video game, I missed making pizza and cheese sticks.

As I sit here writing, I look out the window at the grey, cold, snowy day.  I snap at Mother Nature and say ENOUGH….enough already!!  Bring on the sunshine so all three of my babies can go outside to play in the fresh air and the warmth of the sun.  Walt keeps telling me that nature, meaning the trees, flowers and shrubs get “confused” by the unseasonable warmth like we had last year.  I say pshhhhh, we’re all confused about something, Mother Nature will just have to get over it and adapt, we are ready for warm weather and sunshine!!!

This is going to be a crazy week, more than likely an untraditional one here.  For a few weeks now I have been sitting on a little secret, I got a job.  Yes, yes I did.  I held off saying anything or writing about it because I still have “irons in the fire” as they say and if something better came along (and even if it still does) I would have taken it.  I start work this Friday, Good Friday of all days, at the Home Depot as a Sales Associate in the garden dept.  It’s a part-time seasonal position, only 29 hours a week for 120 days and I took it hoping that it would be a stepping stone into an HR role which they always seem to post for but I never get calls for.  I always have a career angle……..even if it’s a job with Home Depot.

This Friday is orientation and training I’m not sure if I will be required to work this weekend so I am not, for the first time ever, I am not planning a huge Easter dinner.  If for some reason I don’t get scheduled for this weekend, Walt and I will more than likely just have a quiet dinner and then deliver our “bunny baskets” to Josh, Kaylee and Eric.

I am looking forward to this little adventure how could I not be, it’s in the garden department so I’ll be surrounded by flowers and everything outdoors just a few of my favorite things.  I’ll be in a place where all the creativity in my head will flourish into projects for Walt.  This could be fun!  The biggest plus is that I get to wear blue jeans to work, not just on Friday’s but everyday!

Today I’ll leave you with a tasty Au Gratin Potato recipe which I threw together the night I made the Parmesan Meatloaf.  I didn’t want mashed potatoes or rice and pasta didn’t sound appealing either so I decided to make au gratin potatoes.  I didn’t want anything made from a box and I wanted to make them from things I had on hand so I pulled this and that from several recipes to come up with this one and was really pleased with the final results.  Try it, it won’t disappoint.

AU GRATIN POTATOES

 

Easy Au Gratin Potatoes

 

What You’ll Need:

6 Medium potatoes – sliced thin

1 Small onion chopped up fine

1 Cup shredded cheddar cheese (you can use more)

1 Can Cream of Mushroom Soup

1/2 Cup of milk

Salt/Pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • Place sliced potatoes in a greased or sprayed casserole dish
  • Add Chopped onion
  • Salt and pepper
  • Mix (or whisk) the cheese, cream of mushroom soup and milk together
  • Mix into sliced potatoes
  • Bake uncovered for 1 – 1.5 hours (until potatoes are tender)
  • Let set about 5 minutes
  • Serve
Leave a Reply

