Spring Has Lost It’s Sprung

Spring arrived yesterday…..well it’s was supposed to but apparently it forgot that it was required to jump forward taking us into sunny skies and milder temperatures.  Today it’s 25 and cloudy….nothing “spring like” about today at all.  That’s OK though, there is anticipation and hope that warmer weather and lots of sunshine are just around the corner.

Yesterday I reached the ripe ole age of 57…..not young, not old.  Kind of in the middle actually or at least it feels that way.  All of a sudden I have a need to “lighten the load” and get things in order.  Not that I think I’m going anywhere any time soon, just that it’s time to de-clutter the house, my life, make some changes.

I received lots of cards and well wishes on my birthday, cards, texts, Facebook messages, phone calls.  My favorite card was from little Eric which said that I was a grandma who lifted him up to see the stars, how awesome is that.  I love that Eric signed his name all by himself and it was written perfectly for a little guy who is only four.  The baby of the babies is growing up too, maybe a little too fast.

My favorite text was from Joshie, it said “The birds are out Happy Birthday Grandma!” (he sent it from his mom’s phone).  Josh associates my birthday with the first day of spring, Josh and I are kindred spirits in many ways, especially when it comes to spring, summer and warm weather, probably because we are both Pisces and our birthdays are only 9 days apart.

With the exception of waking up with a horrible, blinding migrain and being stuck in bed for most of the day yesterday, in the end, I had an awesome birthday.  I am blessed with a great family and wonderful friends.

Today I’m going to leave you with a recipe I made a few weeks ago, Parmesan Meatloaf.  Regular visitors to Rezich Family Kitchen may recall that a while back I wrote a post about meatloaf and all the variations possible.  Well, I have been on a little mission to add a few more variations to our two favorites, my brown sugar meatloaf and the maple glazed meatloaf that I make.

I came across this recipe on Pinterest and it sounded interesting, what’s not to like about a dish that has many of the ingredients you find in Italian cooking, so I decided to give it a try.  On a scale of one to five, with five being outstanding, I’d give this a three.  It was flavorful but a little dry, the first dry meatloaf I’ve ever made.  I know that I didn’t over-handle it, I really do believe it was dry because you aren’t required to add any “liquid” to the mixture.  We will make it again but I will make more marinara sauce and add some to the meat mixture before baking.  If you decide to try this you may want to consider adding about a half cup or so of marinara sauce to the meat mixture.

PARMESAN MEATLOAF

 Italian Meatloaf

 What You’ll Need:

1 lb ground turkey (I did not use turkey)
1 lb ground beef   (I used 2 lbs. of ground beef)
2 eggs
1/4 cup gluten-free breadcrumbs (I used regular Italian breadcrumbs)
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano 1-2 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 small onion, grated
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup marinara pasta sauce (minus the meat) *See Note Below
1/2 cup shredded Italian cheese blend
Minced parsley for garnish

Directions:
Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees

Lightly grease a loaf pan with cooking spray, set aside
In a large bowl, combine the ground turkey and beef, eggs, breadcrumbs, thyme, oregano, basil, garlic, onion, salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese. Try not over handle the mixture otherwise it will get tough

Place the mixture in the greased loaf pan and form into a loaf.

Top the meatloaf with pasta sauce

Place filled loaf pan on a baking sheet and bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour – 1.5 hours

Remove the meatloaf from the oven and sprinkle the top with the remaining shredded cheese

Place the meatloaf back in the oven and bake until the cheese is melted

Remove the meatloaf from the oven and allow to rest for 5-10 minutes before serving/slicing

Garnish with parsley if desired

Italian Meatloaf

Note:  Instead of purchasing a marinara sauce, I made my own marinara sauce using a 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce, a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar, about a tsp. of italian seasonings.  I let it simmer for about 30 minutes.

Source:  http://mommyimhungry.blogspot.com/2012/02/parmesan-meatloaf-gluten-free.html  slightly adapted from Full Bellies Make Happy Kids

 

 

Leave a Reply

