Crafting Friday

It’s Friday yea!!  Hope you’re having a good one!!

As those who personally know me are aware, I’ve become addicted to making rag wreaths for the holidays.  My Pinterest Craft Ideas board is filled with crafts that I want to try everything from bookmarks to coasters, clay pots to etched jars and more.  With that in mind I am going to dedicate my Friday posts to craft projects.  My goal is to keep the projects simple enough to make in a short amount of time, document my progress and the finished project and share with everyone here on Friday.  Good or bad…..this could be interesting.

The ladies at the JoAnne’s that I go to are becoming a little more familiar with me at the cutting table and they chuckle when someone in line asks what project I’m working on.  I guess people find it hard to believe that one would buy material to create a “rag wreath.”  Most think purchasing material for a “rag” wreath is a contradiction of terms…I guess it is but since I am creating them for holidays and seasons I want to purchase material that is seasonal and colorful.  I’m only using 2 yards of material so the cost is minimal especially if I use a coupon or the material is on sale.

Making a rag wreath is really pretty simple and quick.  It generally takes a short amount of time to cut the material into strips and I can actually tie a wreath on a 12″ frame in the amount of time it takes to watch a Lifetime movie.

Today I’m going to share with you how I made my Saint Patrick’s day wreath.  I was really pleased with the final results.

RAG WREATH

Rag Wreath

What You’ll Need:

1 – 12″ Wire wreath frame

2 yards of material

Decoration

Note:  I used 1 yard of the clover leaf pattern and a half of yard each of the light and dark green

Directions:

Cut your material into 1″ strips wide by 6″ long

Rag Wreath

Tie a strip onto your wreath frame

Rag Wreath

Keep adding your strips alternating colors and patterns

St. Patricks Day Rag Wreath

Make sure each section of the ring is tight so your wreath is full

St. Patricks Day Rag Wreath

Note: This photo is just of the first inner ring!  By filling each section tightly your wreath will be fuller

St. Patricks Day Wreath

Fill in each row – DO NOT complete sections – work your wreath row by row

Decorate your finished project with bows or embellishments

Rag Wreath

Here is the wreath I made for Valentines Day

Valentines Day Rag Wreath

HAPPY CRAFTING!!!

Leave a Reply

