Back Into The Groove

Yes, yes, I know…it’s been a while.  I don’t know why, I just couldn’t get motivated to write.  Not for lack of anything going on….there is ALWAYS something going on here.

Saturday we celebrated Walt’s dad’s 81st birthday.  It was fun to get together with Walt’s family, I love catching up with Walt’s sister Anna and her girls, Nina and Michelle.  Nina and her husband Chris are expecting their first child this a summer, a baby girl.  So exciting!!  Michelle has four children, the oldest is sliding into those scary teen years..Joey will be 16, he’s a boy, but none-the-less  you still worry about everything.  Michelle also has a pre-teen daughter, Adrianna, a sweet quiet little lady who, like all girls, is exploring and creating her own identity her own niche.  I am so glad those years are behind me but Michelle seems to have things under control.  Josh went with us, he loves hanging out playing with John and Mary’s big old dog and with Michelle’s other children, the younger ones, Lindsey and Billy.

Monday, our Joshua turned nine years old.  Nine, I remember the day he was born so clearly…..not even 5 minutes old and he tried to pee on me…lol, I even changed his first poopy diaper.  I tell Josh that story all the time, I’ll stop when he starts dating so I won’t embarrass him.  I was lucky that Cindy allowed me to stay in the room while she delivered, it was an amazing experience.

I had a second interview with the Home Depot this week and things look promising.  I interviewed for a sales associate position in the garden dept. and actually got a call for a season position, 29 hours a week.  I’ll share more about that another time.

Today I’ll leave you with a great slow cooker soup recipe, Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup.  Walt and I loved this, try it we’re sure you will too.

SLOW COOKER CHICKEN TORTILLA SOUP

Chicken Tortilla Soup

What You’ll Need:

1 lb Chicken breast, trimmed
15 oz Can sweet whole corn kernels, drained
15 oz Can diced tomatoes, drained
5 Cup Chicken stock
3/4 Cup Onion, chopped
3/4 Cup Green pepper, chopped
1 Serrano pepper, minced
2 Cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp  Chili powder
1 1/2 tsp Salt, divided
1 tsp Ground pepper, divided
Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
Seasoned tortilla strips

Directions:

  • To your slow cooker add the first 9 ingredients plus 1 tsp salt and 3/4 tsp ground pepper.
  • Cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours.

Source:  http://www.pincookie.com/slow-cooker-chicken-tortilla-soup/

2 thoughts on “Back Into The Groove

Leave a Reply

