Looking For A Sign

I am looking for a sign….a sign that spring is indeed on its way.  By calculation spring should only be 3 weeks away, a mere 624 hours, better yet only 26 days away.  Sitting here in Michigan watching the snow pile up outside my window it feels and looks like we are going in the opposite direction.  Ah…but yesterday was a busy day running…running…running finally stopping somewhere around 6:30 p.m. I am now free to sit inside today to watch the snowfall through the window, still confident that spring is on its way and feeling triumphant that I don’t have to go out into this nasty weather yet sure that with every flake that hits the ground the snow is chanting “Haha….not yet Nancy!”

It’s always nice to hear when someone, anyone tries the recipes that we’ve liked and posted.  Here are just a few recent updates:

  • Mom made the three envelope pot roast on Sunday for the second time and once again mom and dad weren’t disappointed, it turned out delicious!
  • Nikki made the slow cooker chicken and gravy recipe on Tuesday and an hour in to it’s 3 hour cooking time Nikki reported that the house smelled “great already,” she wasn’t sure she could wait till it was done.  Later that day when I asked how it tasted she reported “mmmm it was yum!”
  • A few days ago I shared with everyone that Tina made the Vanilla Coconut Muffins and I was happy to report that they turned out so well Tina shared them with a neighbor….see, they are that delicious.

Today I am hoping the biggest decision I have to make will be which recipe I should leave you with, soup or brownies.  I am opting for brownies because on a day like today they are sure to take the “bite” out this nasty, snowy day!  I cannot even begin to tell you how delicious these brownies are. Joshua knew I was making brownies as soon as he walked through the front door, in fact, he surprised me when he said “Grandma can I have a brownie?”  First, Josh had just walked through the door and I never said anything about the fact I was making brownies and second, they were still in the oven.  When I was finally able to give Josh the first piece his eyes rolled back into his head, he buckled his knee’s and he said “Mmmm, grandma these are so good.”  “We should call them Triple Chocolate Death Threat Brownies.”  I think this name may have some indirect link to his love of WWE.

Walt’s reaction was pretty much the same as Joshua’s.  Walt couldn’t barely get passed the “mmmm” and the “ohhh” and the “wow.”  John was left speechless as well, “Ohhhh man….mmmmm, Oh my God….mmmm”  Yes these brownies are that good, they remind me of a brownie you’d find in a really good bakery or even in a great restaurant.

Joshua will be the first one to tell you that grandma cannot make a box mix brownie to save her life.  I can’t, I don’t know why.  I think I once mentioned in a post that even boxed cake mixes don’t work for me, each and every time I make a cake from a box cake mix it will split, no matter how long I let it cool before removing them from the tins.  Brownies from a box always seem to come out thin, hard and dry.

But these brownies, scratch brownies, are thick, chocolately, and delicious….”mmmmm” and “OMG” are the first words that come to mind when you bite into them.  Even the corner pieces, which are usually the ones no one wants, are as good as the center pieces.  Try them this weekend, they are well worth the little extra effort I promise you won’t be disappointed.

ULTIMATE CHOCOLATE BROWNIES  

Brownies

What You’ll Need:

1 cup HERSHEY’S SPECIAL DARK Chocolate Chips or HERSHEY’S Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (I used the Special Dark Chocolate Chips)

1/4 tsp. Salt

1-1/3 cups All-purpose flour

1 tsp. Vanilla extract

1/2 cup Boiling water

2 cups Sugar

2 Eggs

2/3 cup Butter or margarine , melted and divided  (I used Butter)

3/4 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa

1/2 tsp. Baking soda

ONE-BOWL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING (recipe follows)

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • Grease 13x9x2-inch baking pan or two 8-inch square baking pans.
  • Stir together cocoa and baking soda in large bowl; stir in 1/3 cup butter.
  • Add boiling water; stir until mixture thickens.
  • Stir in sugar, eggs and remaining 1/3 cup butter; stir until smooth.
  • Add flour, vanilla and salt; blend completely.
  • Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Pour into prepared pan.
  • Bake 35 to 40 minutes for rectangular pan, 30 to 35 minutes for square pans or until brownies begin to pull away from sides of pan.
  • Cool completely in pan on wire rack.
  • Frost with ONE-BOWL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING.
  • Cut into squares.
  • Makes 24 to 36 brownies.

ONE-BOWL BUTTERCREAM FROSTING

6 tbls.             Butter or margarine, softened
2-2/3 Cups   Powdered sugar
1/2 Cup         HERSHEY’S Cocoa
1/3 Cup         Milk
1 tsp.              Vanilla extract

Beat butter in medium bowl.

Add powdered sugar and cocoa alternately with milk, beating to spreading consistency (additional milk may be needed).

Stir in vanilla.

About 2 cups frosting.

Source: https://www.hersheys.com/recipes/recipe-details.aspx?id=4315

 

Leave a Reply

