Busy Monday, Busy Week

Monday morning, coming out of a wonderfully relaxing and quiet weekend.  Walt and Josh played games on Playstation and watched basketball (oh boy) while I read a lot and finished a book, “Safe Haven.”  It is the beginning of what looks to be a very busy week.  Doctor today, an appointment with Robin on Tuesday to drop off our tax info and an interview on Wednesday.  In between all of those appointments there will be stops at the books store and Michaels, a Paczki run on Tuesday.  Since my wreath turned out so well I will probably make a trip to JoAnn’s for fabric to make St. Patrick’s Day and Easter/Spring Wreaths.  Oh yea, I will not leave without all of those great little cutting helpers like mom has, the rotary blade, the mat and the ruler, what a difference those made in getting my material cut into strips quickly and evenly!

We did a lot of cooking this weekend, which included but wasn’t limited to, homemade chicken soup, coconut muffins, slow cooker chicken and rice.  I wanted to make brownies yesterday but after thinking about it I really want to pick up some Paczki on Tuesday and that’s just too many sweets for us for one week.  So….the brownies need to wait because we can’t pass up Paczki Day!

After three weeks of putting it off, yesterday I found the courage to sit down with the wireless printer and just go for it.  Within 30 minutes it was up and running on not one but two computers.  WooHoo…I did it without either of my go-to-girls, Nikki and Cindy.  Yes when it comes to anything that has to be assembled, downloaded or technical I always go to Nikki and Cindy who just seem to be able to these things without a blink of an eye.  After it was all done I sat back and wondered what took me so long!

Surprised and shocked to wake up this morning to find that Pope Benedict XVI is retiring, having a difficult time putting my head around that one.  I am even more taken aback by the fact that he states his retirement will begin on February 28.  He gave a two-week notice just like someone who works for General Motors, Johnson Controls or General Electric…..WHAT??!!??  I’m sorry, I hold the Pope to a high standard, he just doesn’t get to resign as if worked for one of the automotive giants.  I don’t now, maybe it is the right thing, maybe a younger Pope with an open mind is what my religion, what my church needs right now.  Change is on the horizon, I pray that it’s a positive one.

Short post today so I can get to my appointment but I’ll leave you with a new recipe I tried last week, it’s a recipe for Kielbasa and Sauerkraut made in the slow cooker.  I will admit at first I was just a little leery but I’m so glad I didn’t talk myself out of making this, it was really tasty.

Are you on Pinterest?  Join us: http://pinterest.com/nancyrezich03/

APPLEY KIELBASA 

Kielbasa and kraut

What You’ll Need:

For The Kielbasa:

2 lbs. fully cooked kielbasa sausage

¾  cup brown sugar

1 cup chunky applesauce

2 Tbsp Dijon mustard

2 cloves garlic, minced

For The Sauerkraut

1 jar of sauerkraut

¼ cup brown sugar

Directions:

  • Cut kielbasa into 1″ pieces
  • Combine brown sugar, applesauce, and mustard
  • Add the kielbasa to the brown sugar, applesauce, mustard mixture
  • Drain sauerkraut and rinse with cold water
  • Make sure you squeeze out excess water
  • Mix kraut with ¼ cup of brown sugar
  • Note:  You can heat up the kraut and brown sugar in a frying pan for a few minutes to remove excess water before placing in slow cooker
  • Place in slow cooker
  • Pour kielbasa mixture on top of the kraut
  • Cover and cook on high for 2 – 3 hours until thoroughly heated

Source:  http://busycooks.about.com/od/appetizerrecipe1/r/applekielbasa.htm

One thought on “Busy Monday, Busy Week

  1. Yep! It’s a monday alright and you sure caught up fast on the news lol! I saw this recipe made this one time at a christmas market in Vancouver, Looks so delicious! 😀

Leave a Reply

