Who Let The Sun Out?

Who let the sun out today?  It was bright and sunny this afternoon, the snow and ice on the little side streets that don’t get plowed actually started to melt a little.  The sun must have escaped for a brief few hours to tease us knowing that the ice and snow will arrive in a few hours.

Hello family and friends, yes I know, today’s post is late.  Why you might ask (probably not)?  Because today is shopping day for one and two they keep talking about this huge snow storm moving our way which meant that if I didn’t get an early jump on my grocery shopping I was going to run into all the people who aren’t prepared for a day or two indoors and all of the people on their way home from work who want to stop and pick up a few things before the storm hits.

I really could have stayed home today and not shopped at all, I’ve got enough food on had to get us through shopping day and then some, but Thursday is my normal shopping day so I stuck with my schedule with the exception that I went earlier in the day.  I was right, Meijer was packed.  I don’t mind sharing the store or the aisles what I mind are the rude people who think that their time and their needs are more important anyone elses.

As I sit in the living room typing my post the 5:00 p.m. news has started and they are talking about the storm, it has already hit western and northern Michigan and moving its way east to our direction.  They cut to a camera positioned in Grand Rapids, not looking too good right now if that is what is headed our way.  Later in the broadcast they are going to talk about potential school closings tomorrow, I am sure all the babies are watching, hoping for a “Snow Day.”

Have you ever seen the Stephen King movie “Storm Of The Century?”  Yea, kinda freaked me out a little, well maybe more than a little.  I saw that movie when it first came out as a TV movie mini series years ago, I think it was 1999.  Now when we are expecting snow storms and I watch the news I always get flash backs to the movie and it is always the scene with Martha Clarendon, an 80-year-old woman who was the first victim of Linoge while she was sitting in her livingroom watching the weather as the storm moved over the tiny island.  Freaks me out especially when I’m home alone, I know, another one of my little quirks…..Tina, stop laughing.

I am happy that the storm starts after Walt gets home tonight and more than likely the roads will be clear long before he has to head back in tomorrow.  I had a doctor appointment tomorrow at 8:20 a.m., however they called and gave me the opportunity to keep it or reschedule for early next week.  I took the reschedule, why go out if I don’t have to and if for some reason the storm doesn’t hit as bad as they think it will, well, I have a free day tomorrow since all my errands are done.

So my Michigan family and friends….and to all those affected by this storm in other states, snuggle up in a blanket, watch some old black and white movies and settle in for a cozy night and maybe even a cozier Friday.

Yesterday I made Golabki (Stuffed Cabbage) but since I’ve previously posted that recipe today I am going to leave you with a recipe I threw together (literally) last Thursday.  I came home from grocery shopping last week and really didn’t want to put a lot of effort into making anything so I grabbed a few things I had on hand and began assembling what turned out to be a great tasty little dish.  I wanted something a little spicy, I had a craving for corn bread, I had some chicken breasts, a packet of taco seasoning and green chilis in the cupboard so I thought “oh go ahead, what could go wrong?”  Obviously nothing because Walt couldn’t get enough!  Try it, let us know how it turns out for you!

FIESTA CHICKEN CASSEROLE 

Fiesta Chicken Casserole

What You’ll Need:

3 cups cooked chopped chicken breasts (I had 3 breasts)

1 packet Taco seasoning

1 (4 oz) can green chilis

1 (15 1/4-oz) can whole kernel corn, drained

1 (14 3/4-oz) can cream-style corn

1 (8-oz) package corn muffin mix (I used Jiffy)

1 cup sour cream

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted

1 to 1 1/2 cups shredded Cheddar

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a large skillet heat chicken add taco seasoning and 2/3 cup water, add green chilis and let cook about 3-5 minutes
  • NOTE:  I used pre cooked chicken, if using raw chicken that cooking time will be longer
  • In a large bowl, stir together the 2 cans of corn, corn muffin mix, sour cream, and melted butter
  • Add chicken to corn muffin/corn mixture
  • Pour into a greased 9 by 13-inch casserole dish
  • Bake for 45 minutes, or until golden brown
  • Remove from oven and top with Cheddar
  • Return to oven for 5 to 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted
  • Let stand for at least 5 minutes and then serve warm

Fiesta Chicken Casserole

 

3 thoughts on “Who Let The Sun Out?

Leave a Reply

