Coming Up This Week…January 27 – February 2, 2013

Funny Holidays

It’s Sunday time for “Coming Up This Week…..”  Can you believe that this is the last Sunday of January?  Where do the days go??  The days, weeks months and years seem to fly by faster and faster each year which translated means that the older I get the faster time flies.  But Sunday has arrived yet again, quickly or not, ready or not it’s here and I already love everything about today because it is Chocolate Cake Day and chocolate cake is my favorite cake.  I haven’t made a chocolate cake or even purchased a chocolate cake in ages because for some reason my three little sweetie’s all love yellow and/or vanilla cake!!  Today homemade chocolate cake is on the dessert menu!!!

Today by far will be my favorite food day of the week because it is chocolate cake day however Saturday is National Crepe Day and I do love crepes, I just haven’t made any in a very, very long time.  When we were kids my mom used to make them on Sunday filled with fruit preserves and sprinkled with powdered sugar…..they were yummy!

There is also (or at least used to be) a little restaurant in Plymouth, MI called the Cozy Café.  Way, way back ….to the 80’s actually The Cozy café is where “girls day out” lunches used to take place.  We would shop all morning going into every little gift shop and boutique along the street then head over to The Cozy café for lunch, they had the best chicken crepes I’ve ever eaten anywhere.  Hmmm maybe before I go back to work and on a nice day I should take mom out for an afternoon and head to Plymouth.

One could only hope that they everyone loved their job well enough to consider it fun to go into work each day.  However for the 95% of people who don’t think going to work is fun they’ve made a day just for you, “Fun At Work Day.”  Think of some ways to have a little fun at work on Monday, nothing disruptive or mean-spirited, (that’s the HR Manager in me coming out) but something a little silly to make the day a little brighter.  Why not send someone a box filled with helium balloons, when they open the box the balloons all float out.  I have a ton of ideas, to bad I’m not working!!

“Inspire Your Heart With Art Day” has nothing to do with creating art and more to do with studying pieces of art to see what it says to you…..Boy was I way off.  I thought I would have to make some of those little cartoon characters that I learned to make last year at Joshua’s family art night.  I think this day should be spent as you perceive it; if you think it’s a day to create art, whether  that’s drawing, painting, taking photos or working on some other creation, than that’s what you should create, after all “art is in the eye of the beholder.”

Of course we can’t forget Groundhog Day we need to know how many more weeks of winter we’re all facing.  Perhaps this memorable hog watching day  is much more important to those of us in the midwest and northeast because we can’t get rid of winter fast enough.  Let’s face it, either way next week will still mark six weeks until the first day of spring but OK, I’ll play along.  If I had my way it would really only be six more weeks until summer!   As of today the first day of spring is about 7 weeks and 3 days OR 52 days OR 1,248 hours away!

Candlemas is the last holiday of the Christmas season. Candlemas is a Christian celebration, or festival, of the Feast of Purification of the Virgin Mary. It also celebrates the annual blessing of candles used by the church.

Wow, I got a little chatty for a Sunday….there are some fun, interesting and tasty days this week, as always be creative and have fun with them!

Sunday – January 27, 2013

  • Chocolate Cake Day
  • Punch the Clock Day

Monday – January 28, 2013

  • National Blueberry Pancake Day
  • Fun at Work Day
  • National Kazoo Day

Tuesday – January 29, 2013

  • National Corn Chip Day
  • National Puzzle Day

Wednesday – January 30, 2013

  • National Croissant Day
  • National Inane Answering Message Day

Thursday – January 31, 2013 

  • Brandy Alexander Day
  • Backward Day
  • Inspire Your Heart with Art Day

Friday – February 1, 2013

  • National Baked Alaska
  • National Freedom Day

Saturday – February 2, 2013

  • Crepes Day
  • Heavenly Hash Day
  • Ground Hog Day
  • Candlemas
Leave a Reply

