Knockoff’s And Copycats

It’s Thursday, grocery shopping day.  I am not looking forward to going out into the 11 degree weather with a wind chill that makes it feel like 2 degrees.  On top of that we had a “dusting” of snow; a dusting, there is no dust about it, it’s snow, it doesn’t matter that it finely covers everything!!  Spring cannot get here fast enough!  I feel bad for the homeless and people who have to work outside.  It is just way to cold.  I doubt that today will be one of those days that I only wear one of Joshua’s school hoodie sweatshirts so that I don’t have to have a heavy old winter coat in the store.  Even though it’s just a quick run from the car to the store and back again, it’s still too cold.

A few nights ago I made a new Alfredo sauce, one that was supposed to have been restaurant quality.  Have you ever gone to a restaurant and said “WoW, I really wish I could make this at home?”  Sometimes we try to recreate a meal either on our own by throwing things together that we think made up this great taste or we do an internet search looking for “Knockoff” or “Copycat” recipes.  But what exactly is a “knockoff/copycat?”  Lots of people who post knockoff or copycat recipes claim that their recipe is the real deal, that it is the recipe your favorite restaurant uses to make the dish you just have to have at home.  Most of the time that just isn’t true, generally knockoffs are a copy or imitation of something popular, most of time it falls into the imitation category.

Although I have never tried Olive Garden’s Alfredo sauce, I am strictly a chicken scampi girl when I go to Olive Garden, I was very interested when I found the recipe below on Pinterest.  I mean come on, heavy cream, cheese, butter, garlic; at the very least it’s the basics for any Alfredo sauce.  But again, to clarify, I have no idea what Olive Garden Alfredo sauce tastes like so I can’t tell if you this is the real deal. I can tell you that there are well over 306,000 internet entries claiming to be the recipe for Olive Garden Alfredo Sauce.  Going through the first half-dozen recipes that popped up, none of them resemble the one listed below.

The original recipe, which the source link below my recipe will take you to, actually makes a gallon of sauce enough to feed fourteen.  Walt and I certainly could not consume a gallon of Alfredo sauce so I had to make some adjustments which are what I have listed below in the recipe posted today.  Even with the adjustments that I had to make this was a pretty tasty sauce, I think the fontina cheese is a great addition.

As with almost all Alfredo sauces my biggest complaint is when you reheat it the next day, the cheese separates and the butter pools, this one does as well.  I have to say that the only Alfredo sauce I have found to reheat well is the one from The Avenue, a little restaurant that Walt and I like to go to; I actually look forward to eating the leftovers the next day.

This recipe is worthy of a try. It won’t replace my “go to” Alfredo sauce but I’m glad I gave it a try.  Is it the Olive Garden’s recipe?  I’ll never know.  Does it taste like Olive Garden’s Alfredo sauce?  I don’t know, but if you’ve had Olive Garden’s Alfredo sauce give this recipe a try; let us know what you think.  We love your feedback!

Have a great Thursday everyone!

 OLIVE GARDEN ALFREDO SAUCE

Alfredo Sauce

What You’ll Need:

2 oz. milk

1 Pint heavy cream

4 tbsp. butter

1/2 tbsp. flour

4 oz. Freshly grated parmesan cheese

1 oz. Fontina cheese

3/4 tbsp. minced garlic

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. black pepper

Directions:

  • On medium heat, add butter, garlic, and flour until butter is melted. Do not brown garlic
  • Whisk in the heavy cream and milk until hot
  • Slowly add the freshly grated cheeses into the hot cream mixture
  • Finally add the salt and pepper
  • Stir often to make sure no cheese settles at the bottom
  • Simmer until all the cheeses are melted and the sauce reaches the desired thickness. Do not let this sauce boil, or it will begin to separate and the cheeses will become grainy
  • Turn heat off or on low before serving

Source:  http://italian.food.com/recipe/olive-garden-alfredo-sauce-173712?scaleto=.25&mode=null&st=true

Leave a Reply

