Another Cold Michigan Day

Another cold day in Michigan, at 11:00 a.m. it’s only 9 degrees and yes, I am counting down the days until spring.    This year spring officially arrives on Wednesday, 20 March 2013. That means it is exactly 55 days, 7 hours until spring makes its official appearance.  I am waiting and I will admit not very patiently.

I have no reason to go out into the cold so I am staying in.  Today will be a day to work on a few projects I keep putting off.  As I sit here it sounds like a plan however once Walt walks out the door for work and I finish this post it could be an entirely different story.  Rather than finish a project I will probably, more than likely, start a new one or do nothing at all.  I don’t know what it is lately, I am completely unfocused, hopefully this too shall pass, sooner rather than later.

This week I wanted to get a jump on my meal planning for next week so yesterday I spent some time going through some of my cookbooks.  I’ve spent so much time on Pinterest lately, pinning and trying recipes from Pinterest that I’ve completely neglected the many cookbooks that I have.

I have a lot of cookbooks, hard cover, soft cover, name brand, famous chefs, church fund raiser books, specialty recipes…on and on and on.  At one time I was the queen of the checkout line cookbooks, you know, those little 8.5×5 books published generally by name brand companies.  If there was a new one published it was in my cart, Pillsbury, Campbell’s, Betty Crocker, Taste of Home.  Books containing recipes for everything and anything; comfort foods, easy meals, slow cooker recipes, recipes using hamburger, casseroles and more.

This is just a small sampling of the checkout line books I own:

Cookbooks

As I flipped through my checkout line books, I was excited to find recipes that I remember making, marked as EXCELLENT! but for some reason only made once and forgotten never to be made again.  Actually that’s not true, I do know the reason for only making them once or twice, it’s because yet another new recipe book found its way into our kitchen and the old recipe was forgotten and replaced with something from one of the new book.

Now I’m on a new cooking mission.  My plan is to make at least one or two recipes from the cookbooks that are on the bookcase that I insisted be installed when we remodeled our kitchen in 2007.  The other day I found cook books that I had forgotten about on the bookcases down stairs, I plan to add them to the books on the kitchen bookcase. I want to pull a way, just a little, from the on-line recipes and go back to the books that have recipes we’ve tried and loved in the past.

Next week’s menu planner has been started and so far it has several recipes from those lost and forgotten recipes books, I can’t wait to make them again and share the recipes with all of you.

Today I will leave you with a really great recipe that we tried on Saturday, Slow Cooker Sausage and Peppers.  First the house smelled amazing all day long.  Second, this recipe is delicious!  I would go so far as to say that even if you didn’t want to use this recipe as a sandwich recipe it could easily pass for a stuffed pepper soup because there is a lot of liquid.

SLOW COOKER SAUSAGE AND PEPPERS

Slow Cooker Sausage and Peppers

What You’ll Need:

1  tbs olive oil

1 lbs bulk ground sweet sausage

1/2  lbs ground beef

2     15oz cans fire roasted tomatoes

1      8oz can tomato sauce

1      small onion, sliced

1      red pepper, sliced

1      green pepper, sliced

Sliced provolone or mozzarella

Fresh rolls

Directions:

  • Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat
  • Brown the sausage and ground beef, breaking into bite sized portions as it cooks
  • Transfer to a large slow cooker
  • Stir in the roasted tomatoes, tomato sauce, onion, and peppers into the slow cooker with the sausage mixture
  • Cook on low for 5-7 hours
  • Toast rolls with a slice of mozzarella on each until golden brown and cheese is starting to melt
  • Using a slotted spoon (there is a lot of liquid), pile sausage and pepper mixture onto rolls

Sources:

Leave a Reply

