Am I At The North Pole?

Writing today from the North Pole, oh wait, it only feels like the North Pole here  in Michigan.  It’s a brisk 1 degree and feels like -9 degree’s.  There are school closings, it looks like most of them are in rural areas, many schools are still open including all of our school districts.  I feel bad for the kids, I know in my school district we have a lot of kids who walk to school, they pass our house everyday.  Our house is exactly a half mile from the school which means that these kids are even  further, it’s way to cold for kids to walk in this.  I also feel bad for the kids who take the bus, too cold to be waiting around for the bus to show up.  I hope parents are bundling the kids up.   Brrrrr!!

I have a coupon for a free (no purchase necessary) loaf of fresh French or Italian bread from Randazzo’s.  In fact, I have 6 coupons for free loaves of bread, one every week for the next six weeks.  Pretty awesome especially since we love the fresh bread from Randazzo.  My game plan today was to run up to Randazzo to pick up a fresh loaf of bread to go with the chicken fettuccine I plan on making tonight.  As cold as it is outside, I’m not sure I want to venture outside for any reason but fresh-baked bread (FREE bread) may win this internal battle I’m having.  I guess if my grandbabies were forced to go to school today the least I can do is make a quick run up to the corner for fresh bread to go with our chicken fettuccine tonight.

I just might have to do some baking today, maybe cookies or perhaps muffins for tomorrow morning.  Mmmmm, cinnamon-sugar muffins sound pretty good right about now and I know the house would smell delicious.  If I get really ambitious I could make both!  I guess we’ll see how motivated I am after Walt leaves for work.

The Gooey Butter Cake, aka; Neiman Marcus Brownies, Chess Squares, Cream Cheese Brownies (yes they are known by at LEAST that many names) are almost gone.  What ever you want to call them won’t change how deliciously rich these are.  They are so rich and gooey that you really can only eat one little square at a time and you will argue with yourself as to whether or not you should go back for another.

It’s funnny, how the same recipe can be named so many different things.  I found the exact same recipe for these delicious little blondes or white brownies under all of those different names on several different blogs including Pin Foody and Kevin and Amanda on Pinterest (links below).  Paula Deen also has a similar recipe, she calls it Gooey Butter Cake and her recipe has a few extra ingredients.  If you want to see Paula’s recipe you can go to Paula Deen’s website.  These are definitely a keeper, I can’t wait to make them for company!

Stay warm today, bake something yummy, I know I will!!

NEIMAN MARCUS BROWNIES (aka: Gooey Butter Cake, Chess Squares)

Gooey Butter Cake, Chess Squares

 

What You’ll Need:

1 box yellow cake mix
3 eggs
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
4 cups (1 lb) powdered sugar

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees
  • Spray a 9×13 dish with cooking spray
  • Mix cake mix, melted butter and one egg to a soft dough
  • Press into the bottom of the pan
  • Mix powdered sugar, softened cream cheese and remaining two eggs until smooth, about 1-2 min.
  • Pour on top of crust
  • Bake at 300 for 40-50 minutes until top is golden brown
  • Cool – cut into squares

Sources:

 

Leave a Reply

