It Looks Like Monday…..But It Sounds And Smells Like Sunday

When I look out my window this morning I know that it’s Monday, a very cold somewhere around 18 degrees kind of Monday with a light dusting of snow.  Trash and recycle bins line our street, people out and about early sweeping off the unexpected snow that fell during the night before they head off to work.  It looks like any typical Monday.

The sounds and smells however are reminiscent of our typical Sunday.  I can hear Joshua’s humming (he always hums, I’ll explain that one day) coming up the stairs as he plays a game on the Playstation downstairs.  Big “Sunday” breakfast of bacon, sausage and pancakes has been cooked, eaten and cleaned up this morning but the smell of sausage and bacon lingers in the air as I begin today’s post.   It may look like Monday,and in fact it is Monday but it definitely sounds and smells like Sunday in our house today.

Walt and I had a full “grandbaby” weekend.  Eric came to stay with us on Saturday night, our little guy is getting over yet another round of bronchitis so he was, for the most part, pretty laid back.  A little Playmobil, some Max and Ruby, Fresh Beat Band (they annoy me, I don’t know why), snacking on banana’s and red grapes, ending the night watching “Finding Nemo.”  On Sunday we had our “Sunday Breakfast,” a new chicken dish in the slow cooker.  Eric played and watched a little TV until Nikki came to pick him up in the early evening.  It was a good visit, Eric likes having Grandma and Papa to himself from time to time.

Joshua and Kaylee had a full weekend with their mom and her family.  Ice sculpture shows, a hockey game, family birthday’s to celebrate with dinners and parties.  They had a pretty full weekend, however Josh, not wanting to leave us without a visit, worked us into his busy weekend schedule and spent Sunday night with us since there is no school today due to Martin Luther King Day.

Last night Josh played video games while Kaylee and Papa colored.  Cindy and I had a visit before she rounded Kaylee up and headed home.  Josh spent the night which is why today, Monday, it sounds and smells like Sunday because I prepared another big Sunday breakfast on Monday.  Josh and Papa are going to play a little Playstation before papa heads off to work and Josh will head back home so he can hang out with some of his buddies this afternoon.

Even with everyone in and out I had a weekend full of cooking and baking my only dilemma right now is to where to start the sharing.  Do I start with Friday’s Gooey Butter Cake or Saturdays Slow Cooker Peppers and Onions?  Maybe I should start out with the one thing we both agreed we won’t try again…..Sunday’s “Crockpot Honey Garlic Chicken” which I found on “Rachel’s Nest” through Pinterest; http://www.rachelsnest.com/2011/08/honey-garlic-chicken-crock-pot-recipe.html.  I don’t know who the original author of this recipe is so I can only post where I found it.  You can visit Rachel’s site through the link above.

Now you may wonder why I would post a recipe that we didn’t like all that well.  First because I promised myself when I started this little blogging adventure that I would share all the recipes we try on our blog, be it good, bad or ehh.  After all that is the point right, sharing what we’ve tried and what we’ve learned.  Second, just because Walt and I didn’t like it doesn’t mean that someone out in this great big blogging universe won’t think that it’s fantastic, after all there are a lot of people who posted how much they liked this on Rachel’s blog.  It’s all about your palate preference.

I followed the recipe exactly as written and although Walt and I both like soy sauce, I especially love dipping my sushi in soy sauce with a little wasabi mixed in, the soy sauce in this dish was just way to over powering for us, the sauce just a little too bitter which surprised me because of the honey.  I decided to add some brown sugar and let it cook a few minutes longer and it became a little bit sweeter.  We did eat it, Walt had seconds and he will take the rest to work for lunch on Tuesday, it’s just not a recipe we will attempt to make again.

After this, the second time I attempted to make something of oriental fare, Walt has officially informed me that we are no longer going to try any type of oriental dishes either stove top or slow cooker, they just don’t seem to work out well for us.  I don’t know, maybe we are spoiled by the great Chinese restaurants we have close to home so when we make our own we are disappointed in how it turns out.  As I sit here and write, it has just occurred to me that I was so disappointed that I forgot to take a photo!

So family and friends I leave you with this recipe and unfortunately no photo.  If you love soy sauce try this, you may have a different opinion of this recipe than we did there are many who tried it loved it.   We ate it, it’s just not a recipe that Walt and I care to try again.  If you do try it, let us know how it turned out for you.

Today is “National Hugging Day” give someone a hug!!  Have a great Monday everyone!!

CROCK POT HONEY GARLIC CHICKEN

What You’ll Need:

1 Package of boneless, skin-less chicken breasts

3 Garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 Cup soy sauce

1/2 Cup ketchup

1/2  Cup honey

Pinch of basil

Salt & pepper to taste

Cooked Rice

Instructions:

  • Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours
  • Remove chicken from crock pot and transfer to covered plate to keep warm
  • Reduce the sauce in a pot until thickened to desired consistency
  • Serve sauce over chicken and rice
Leave a Reply

