Back On Line?

I was so excited when I logged onto Pinterest this morning and was able to access my recipes!!  I quickly copied and pasted the recipe to a word document and with much excitement and anticipation I logged onto Word Press.  My first mission on WP was to look up my Cheesy Corn Chowder Recipe, I needed to finish up my grocery list for today so I did a search.  Instead of a link to my recipe this is what came up:

Server Maintenance

Your server is going through a few minutes of routine maintenance. Please don’t touch your browser for a few minutes.

What do I do?

  • If you were posting a comment or making a post on your blog then do not press BACK on your browser. Wait 5 minutes and   press the refresh icon on your browser. Your comment or post will be sent  as normal.

  • If you are browsing a blog here just wait a few moments and hit refresh. The page you were expecting will appear.

My first thought and reaction was; ARE YOU KIDDING ME??  This is some kind of test I just know it, perhaps some hidden message.  Whatever  that message or lesson is it’s not going to win.  I did not get frustrated, I did not throw the lap top, I did not swear (well maybe just a word or two), I did take a deep breath.  I have been attacking technology this week perhaps this is technologies way of getting back at me…letting me know they have the upper hand.  And, so long as I simply rely on the “easy way” pinning and saving and creating on-line recipe books, they do.  But that’s ok, I am on a mission to rectify that.

All was forgotten when I hit the “refresh” arrow, typed in “cheesy corn chowder” into my search key and quickly two posts appeared, one for my new “Chili, Soup, Stew” tab and one for the article that I posted with the chowder recipe.  I was so excited I wanted to do the happy dance.  I loved that the site directed me to the new pages I set up earlier this week.  I’ll keep working on updating the tabs with recipes we’ve already blogged about.

Lessons learned this week.  I must have had a spicy food deficiency last week when I made up my menu planner. 99% of what was on it this week so far was spicy in one way or another.  The Buffalo Chicken Garbage Bread, Meaty Italian Sausage Spaghetti, Enchilada Lasagna followed by reheated Meaty Italian Sausage Spaghetti.  Needless to say Walt put in a request for this week that I cut back on the spicy stuff and not make them back to back to back.  Personally I did not have a problem with spicy, I had issues with the fried pork chops I made last night  (I was up until 2:00 a.m. sucking down Tums) but the spicy stuff set pretty well with me.

I found this Enchilada Lasagna recipe on Pinterest, it was posted on “Mogwai Soup” at http://www.mogwaisoup.com/2009/08/enchilada-lasagna.html.  This is really a tasty dish, you will go back for seconds for sure and it reheats in the microwave wonderfully.  One thing I may do different next time is cut the cheese to 4 cups instead of 5 using one cup on each of the chicken layers and then 2 cups on top.  With the soup mixture and the cheese it does make it quite gooey which is great, but I think you could cut back on the one additional cup of cheese.  This dish would definitely feed a small crowd.

So I leave you today with this tasty recipe as I head out the door to do my least favorite thing….grocery shop.  Have a great Thursday everyone.

 

Enchilada Lasagna

ENCHILADA LASAGNA

What You Will Need:

2 tbsp of vegetable oil
1 lbs chicken breast, chopped to bite pieces
5 cups of Mexican Blend Cheese
1 can of Cream of Celery
1 can of Cream of Chicken
1 1/2 cups sour cream
1/4 cup canned and chopped green chillies (drained)
small corn tortillas (I used flour)
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees

  • Brown chicken in a pan on 2 tbsp of oil
  • Season with the cumin, salt and pepper
  • In a bowl combine cream of celery, cream of chicken, sour cream and green chillies
  • Prepare the dish you will assemble the lasagna in. Put 1/2 cup of cream mix on the bottom of the baking dish and spread. Layer a row of tortillas followed with cream mix, chicken and cheese. You should be able to make 3 layers.  The last layer doesn’t need chicken, just a ton of cheese.
  • Bake at 425 degrees for about 25 to 30 minutes.  (original recipe calls for 20 even though my ingredients were warm, it wasn’t as hot as we like)

Enchilada Lasagna

 

Source:  Mogwai Soup @ http://www.mogwaisoup.com/2009/08/enchilada-lasagna.html

Leave a Reply

