Back To Normal

Hope everyone had a great January 1st. Our day was filled with football, junk food and playmobil. Unfortunately Michigan lost so we had several minutes of mourning, finger pointing, armchair coaching with Josh and Papa Walt dissecting all of the last-minute plays which cost Michigan the game. Of course the Michigan game was soon forgotten as the Rose Bowl game began with shout-outs for the Stanford team then quickly forgotten at halftime as the boys got involved in a little playmobil action on the living room floor.

With the sunrise today things get back to normal, work schedules, house schedules, meal planning and preparation. Furniture is moved back into its rightful place, missed Christmas decorations will find their way back downstairs and into the storage room until next year.

At some point today I will remember that it really is Wednesday and not Monday.  I’ll start my grocery list since my shopping day is tomorrow, I’ll get back into “job search” mode, and I’ll spend some time writing.  Later I’ll run up to the dollar store and see if they have any hard cover journals and soft soap.  Now there is a savings for you, a bottle of Soft Soap at the grocery store is about $1.25 or more, the same bottle is $1.00 at the dollar store.

The journals are for writing.  I became well aware of how awful my handwriting has become, so much so that I can hardly recognize my own writing.  Walt recently handed me an old piece of paper with writing on it and asked me what it was and was it important.  I looked at it and asked him where he found it and who wrote it.  He looked at me puzzled and said “you did.”  For a few minutes I insisted that I had not written it, explaining that it wasn’t even my handwriting but after a few minutes I began to realize that it was.   I know that the reason for the sloppy hand writing is the computer.  We do so much on the computer no one hand writes anything anymore.  Perhaps some of it can be blamed on my issues with arthritis setting in but I know it’s not all of it.  I type a lot, even letters, before our copier decided it had had enough I typed up my grocery list.  When I do write I have noticed that I print instead of using cursive.  So I’m going to write, I am going to use my journals for writing short stories and poems.

I have a recipe for you today, probably not one you would expect but I didn’t expect that I would have to make it.  The other day I needed Cajun seasoning and discovered that the one I had in the cupboard had expired long ago.  Not wanting to go out to the store I did a little research on what to use in place of Cajun seasoning and found this on allrecipes.com;

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe-Tools/Print/Recipe.aspx?  recipeID=149221&origin=detail&servings=12&metric=false

I used a little of this spice in the mac and cheese Eric and I made on New Year’s Eve and it was fantastic.  Because it has all the spices that are always in my spice cupboard I will never purchase Cajun seasoning again!

Cajun Spice

Cajun Seasoning

  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. ground pepper
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 1/4 tsp. dried thyme
  • ½ tsp. red pepper flakes

Blend it all together well and store unused spice in an airtight container.

Oh, I didn’t forget.  The mac and cheese recipe will be posted tomorrow.  Have a great Wednesday everyone!!

3 thoughts on “Back To Normal

    • Hi Felicia, Before I mixed my Cajun seasoning I checked the experation dates on my spice bottles and came up with an average. The expiration dates on the spices I used for this were 2014 and 2015 so my plan is to keep this through 2013 although I don’t think it will last that long. You can always cut this recipe in half if you don’t use a lot of Cajun seasoning. Spices don’t really spoil, they just lose some of their potency so when they expire and you use them you won’t get the same flavor as when you use fresher spices. Happy cooking and creating!!

Leave a Reply

