Coming Up This Week December 9 thru December 15, 2012

Hi everyone, hope you’re enjoying your Sunday.  We had a little unexpected guest over night, our little Eric is with us this morning and of course he is still sleeping since he was awake until 4:30 a.m.  Hopefully we’re going to have breakfast shortly and then head back to his house so he can be home when his momma gets home from work later today.

Sunday’s seem to have become slow cooker days, I like it a little more than I thought I would.  Even though we’re here all day it’s nice to just throw everything in the slow cooker and not have to worry about timers and additions.  I have something new in the slow cooker today a chicken dish which I’ll serve over pasta.  Can’t wait to see how this one turns out.

I’ve gotten a few comments and e-mails on the our “Coming Up This Week” posts, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about the funny holidays and especially to those who said they look forward to this post on Sunday.  I have to say there were a few times that I thought about not doing it but after this week when I realized that more than just my immediate family reads this little post, I will keep it a regular Sunday ritual.

As always there are some interesting days this week;

Christmas Card Day honors Sir Henry Cole of England who created the first commercial Christmas Card.  This year I am not sending out cards, instead of spending money on stamps for cards we are going to keep the cash handy for charities like the Good Fellows and the Salvation Army bell ringers.  Of course I’ll also purchase a toy for Toys for Tots, I do every year but this year thought maybe I might not be able to because I’m not working.  So instead the money for stamps will go to charity.

National Noodle Ring Day?  Seriously?  I think I want my own day!  Anyway, this day is exactly what it implies, cooking something with ring noodles.

I am a fan of Poinsettia Day and Ice Cream Day and I am happy that I live in a country where freedom and basic human rights are a given and not something that we have to fight for on a daily basis.

As always…be creative, have fun and enjoy theses little observances.

Sunday – December 9, 2012

  • Christmas Card Day
  • International Children’s Day
  • National Pastry Day

Monday – December 10, 2012

  • Human Rights Day

Tuesday – December 11, 2012

  • National Noodle Ring Day

Wednesday – December 12, 2012

  • National Cocoa Day
  • National Ding-a-ling Day
  • National Poinsettia Day

Thursday – December 13, 2012

  • Ice Cream Day
  • Violin Day

Friday – December 14, 2012

  • National Bouillabaisse Day

Saturday – December 15, 2012

  • Bill of Rights Day
  • National Lemon Cupcake Day*
  • National Cupcake Day*

*NOTE:  One site says “National Lemon Cupcake Day” another says “National Cupcake Day”

Leave a Reply

