This n That Thursday

If you were looking for your favorite Senior Citizen in our city yesterday I think I found most of them.  They were shopping at the new Valuland Market that opened up on the corner and at the Dollar Tree next door.  I’m not complaining, I love senior citizens, my parents are senior citizens and I am just a few birthday’s away from becoming a senior citizen.  In fact AARP has been hot on my trail for a few years, I believe they already consider me a senior citizen, they keep sending me applications to join them.  I’m merely noting that it was the beginning of the month and seniors were out everywhere catching up on their shopping.

I am sure they were just as excited as I was to visit the new store in our neighborhood.

Valuland Markeet

Ever since Michaels moved out a few years ago (Oh how I miss my Michaels within walking distance) the store has been empty.  It was exciting to see and hear work going on inside the building and even more exciting to hear that it was going to be a grocery store!

It’s quite a small store, there is no deli or bakery and the stock is very limited but it is another option to Meijer, which is a little drive; to Kroger and Oak Ridge which are both expensive.  Being a Spartan store the prices are reasonable, they have a lot of 10 for $10.00 name brand items.  I bought a head of lettuce for $.69 and that was marked as “an everyday low price!”  A bottle of Ivory liquid that Meijer charges me $3.59 for was at an everyday low price of $2.89.

The store was clean and well-organized and I’m sure it was merely because it was only day 2 of “open for business,” there were staff all over the place ready to greet you and answer any questions.  I am not sure that it will ever become my weekly grocery store, but it is definitely close enough to take advantage of some really great deals which will save me money and I don’t have to drive out of my way to get to.

Last night I made spaghetti and meatballs for dinner.  I love the aroma that fill the house when I make spaghetti, the spices, onion, garlic.  It smells so good.  When I texted Walt to tell him we were having spaghetti and meatballs he sent me a message back saying that he couldn’t wait to get home, his mouth was watering and he could smell the sauce simmering all the way at work.  That’s how I know it’s good, he can close his eyes, breath in and know exactly what the house smells like.

I made my traditional and Walt’s favorite spaghetti sauce.  When I make spaghetti with meatballs I change one little thing,  I don’t add the ground beef to the sauce, I make the meatballs, drop them into my sauce and let the meatballs simmer in the sauce for about an hour and a half, stirring very carefully about every 15 minutes so that the sauce doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot and I don’t break my meatballs.

Here is the link to my sauce recipe, remember if you’re going to make the meatballs, leave out the ground beef: https://rezichfamilykitchen.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/in-another-dimension-i-am-italian/

Here is the recipe for my spaghetti meatballs which has very few ingredients but loaded with flavor.  These meatballs are different from the ones I make when I make meatballs and gravy.

Meatballs

 

Nancy’s Spaghetti Meatballs

What You’ll Need:

1.0 – 1.25 lbs.     Ground Round

1/2 cup                Italian Bread Crumbs

1/4 cup                Grated Parmesan Cheese

1                            Egg

1 small                Onion – grated into meat mixture

1 tbsp.                 Brown Sugar

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • In a large bowl combine all ingredients and mix well (I use my hands)
  • Roll meat mixture into small balls about the size of a golf ball
  • Drop into boiling spaghetti sauce
  • Simmer for 1.5 hours
  • Serve over pasta
Leave a Reply

