A Family Favorite

What a difference a day makes.  Yesterday it was gloomy, gray and raining but the temperatures started out mild and fell throughout the day.  Today it’s chilly outside and the sun is shinning brightly.  Shhhh, you just can win with Michigan Weather.

Yesterday was a pretty uneventful day.  Other than working on three Christmas Candy Bouquets that I need to deliver soon I didn’t do much of anything.  In fact I didn’t even leave the house yesterday which is something that I’ve been trying to avoid doing because I think it’s important to get out and get some fresh air everyday even if it is only to run an errand or two.

I made an old family favorite for dinner yesterday.  Remember the chicken and dumpling recipe I made a while ago?  The one that Little Eric loved but I thought something was missing?  Yesterday I decided to make my version of chicken and dumplings which I think is much a much better version.

Nikki and John grew up calling it Chicken Pot Pie but it really isn’t a traditional top and bottom crust round pot pie.  I don’t remember where this recipe came from, if I found it in a magazine or a bed and breakfast cookbook.  I just know that it has always been Nikki and John’s favorite dish and as they grew older, into teens, I had to start making two pans so that there were leftovers for the next day.  I am not joking when I say that they fight over it.

I haven’t made this dish in quite a while, I forgot how great the house smells when it’s baking and how flavorful the tarragon is.  I only made one pan and the best part is there are leftovers for Walt and me.

Try it, I promise you’ll like it.

Chicken Pot Pie

Nancy’s Chicken and Dumplings

What You’ll Need:

6 cups of chicken chopped into bite size pieces

1 can (10.75 oz) Chicken Broth

1 can (10.75 oz) Cream of Chicken Soup

1 can (16 oz) mixed vegetables – drained

1/2 tsp. dried tarragon

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 stick (1/2 cup) of melted butter (not margarine)

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

Directions:

  • Heat Oven to 350 degrees
  • Spray or grease bottom of a 13 x 9 baking dish
  • Spread chopped chicken in the bottom of the dish
  • Mix the chicken broth, cream of chicken soup and the tarragon in a bowl; pour over the chicken
  • Spread the mixed vegetables over the soup/chicken mixture
  • In a bowl mix together the flour and baking powder
  • Add the buttermilk and butter – mix until you get a thin dough
  • Spread the dough mixture over the chicken mixture
  • Bake for 1 hour or until crust is brown and the chicken mixture is bubbly
  • Let sit for at least 5 minutes
  • Cut and serve

014

NOTE:  Not really happy with WordPress today, having problems uploading and attaching photo’s and error messages of “WordPress is not responding.”

 

Leave a Reply

