Coming Up This Week….December 2 thru December 8

Happy Sunday everyone!!

December arrived yesterday and brought with it spring jacket weather…YAHOO.  Today it’s wet outside, not in the form of snow and much to the disappointment of my grandchildren it is raining.  But all is not lost, there is another new slow cooker pot roast recipe cooking in our slow cooker on the counter…perfect for a day like today!!  I am hoping that this recipe is as tasty as the “Three Envelope Pot Roast” that everyone is making and loving.

Lots of cute and interesting days coming up this week, I can honestly say that I have been difficult this year, even a little negative so I’m a little worried that I might be on Santa’s “Nice” list.  I’m working on it.  Of course my sweet, Angelic grandchildren will be on Santa’s “Nice” list, how could they not be?

“Bathtub Party Day.”  Really?  Since we tore out the only bath tub we had in the house a few years ago and replaced it with a shower similar to the one in our room at the Bellagio in Vegas, a “Bathtub Party” is not an option for us.

St. Nicholas Day…I love this day.  Somehow, even though Eric, Kaylee and Josh are not always here on this day, St Nicholas always manages to leave a special little treat for them at my house with instructions for me to make sure that Kaylee, Eric and Josh get them the next time I see them.

Of course we can’t leave out or forget December 7, Pearl Harbor Day.  Another day to remember and honor those who fought and died defending our country.

“Letter Writing Day,” with e-mail, texting and twitter no one actually writes a handwritten letter anymore.  How sad is that?

Lot’s of silly little days this week.  From a food view-point, Brownie Day has my attention and I already have a recipe that I want to try!

As always….have a little fun with these this week.  Would love to hear how creative you can be with them!

Sunday – December 2, 2012

  • National Fritters Day

Monday – December 3, 2012

  • National Apple Pie Day
  • National Roof Over Your Head Day

Tuesday – December 4, 2012

  • National Cookie Day
  • Santa’s List Day
  • Wear Brown Shoes Day

Wednesday – December 5, 2012

  • National Sacher Torte Day
  • Bathtub Party Day
  • Repeal Day – End of Prohibition

Thursday – December 6, 2012

  • St. Nicholas Day
  • Mitten Tree Day
  • Put On Your Own Shoes Day
  • National Gazpacho Day
  • Microwave Oven Day

Friday – December 7, 2012

  • Pearl Harbor Day
  • National Cotton Candy Day
  • Letter Writing Day
  • International Civil Aviation Day

Saturday – December 8, 2012

  • National Brownie Day
  • Take It In The Ear Day

 

 

2 thoughts on “Coming Up This Week….December 2 thru December 8

  1. Huh, I actually did wear brown shoes yesterday and didn’t even know it was Brown Shoe Day. I’m not sure I want to fully understand why there is a Put On Your Own Shoes Day or Take It in the Ear day. I always look forward to these posts. 🙂

    • Hi Nicole, I find them funny as well. I tried to research the orgins and didn’t come up with anything other than these days show up on fun and whacky holidays to celebrate. I looked at “Put On Your Shoes Day” as a day that mom’s try to get kids to put on their own shoes and the take it in your ear day, well I just can’t even imagine! Glad you enjoy and look forward to the whacky days of the week, it fun trying to figure out what some of them are all about! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Leave a Reply

