Don’t Let Go

Poetry Challenge:  Take the lyrics of a favorite song and use them in a poem.  Here is my submission.

Song:  ‘Show Me What I’m Looking For”

By:  Carolina Liar   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IqCfxgKZd8

Lyrics:  “Don’t let go, I’ve wanted this for too long.”  “Mistakes become regrets, I’ve learned to love abuse.”  “Save me, I’m lost.”  “Save me from being confused.” “Please show me what I’m looking for.”

 

“Don’t Let Go”

We meet again

after years apart

We embrace

clumsily,

awkwardly

People are watching us

our families

wondering what we will do

Wait, please

Don’t let go

I’ve wanted this for too long

Mistakes become regrets

and I have many

I was the one who let go

It was my fear

Fear of where we were headed

and me

believing

I was not worthy

of someone like you

I’ve learned to love abuse

So I left you behind

the one who was always so kind

A good man

 who treated me like a princess

I miss what we had

I miss you

Those before you

and those that came after you

can’t live up to my memory of you

Please

Save me,  I’m lost

Save me from being confused

Please show me

show me what I’m looking for

One thought on “Don’t Let Go

  1. Pingback: Poem for the writing prompt by Grandma Nancy! « 20 Lines A Day

Leave a Reply

