Do You Hear What I Hear??

Ahhhh…..Silence….that’s what I hear.  My phone is no longer ringing off the hook with ridiculous pre-recorded, robot calling messages from people who wouldn’t give me the time of day if they saw me on the street….Sarah Palin, Clint Eastwood, even our own Governor Rick Snyder.

Yesterday, as I savored the silence of the phone after 2:00 p.m. (yes calls were still coming in yesterday), no longer hearing the unwelcome knocking at the door and the joy of going to a mailbox free of the mounds of election mail, I decided to make “Savory Chicken Breasts” which I found on the AllRecipes website.  I don’t know who the originally posted the recipe so I can’t post the author’s name, today it’s just the link; http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Savory-Chicken-Breasts/Detail.aspx

I served this with white rice and corn, it was a huge hit!  If you follow the link to the recipes and read the reviews you will see many modifications.  I made only a few minor changes:

  • I used Planko in place of bread crumbs – I browned it first in a frying pan
  • I used 3 breasts – about 1.5 lbs. – they were big, I flattened them with a mallet
  • I used two slices of cheese on each chicken breast

Baked Chicken Breast, Chicken Swiss

Savory Chicken Breasts

What You’ll Need:

4                   Boneless/Skinless Chicken Breast Halves

4 slices        Swiss Cheese

1 can            (10.75 oz) Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup

1/4 cup        Milk

1 cup            Bread Crumbs (I used Planko)

3 tbsp          Melted Butter

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  • Place chicken breasts in a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  • Season with ground black pepper and seasonings of your choice to taste.
  • Top each breast with a slice of cheese.
  • Mix together the soup and milk and pour mixture over chicken.
  • Sprinkle bread crumbs on top and drizzle with melted butter/margarine.
  • Bake covered in the preheated oven for 30 minutes.
  • Uncover and bake for another 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Chicken with Swiss Cheese

2 thoughts on “Do You Hear What I Hear??

    • Hi Olivia, thanks for stopping by, the chicken was very tasty and I find that for dishes like these I am migrating more torward Planko since I first used it for the first time on the Jalepeno Chicken (previously posted) rather than bread crumbs. I love that you toast it on the stove top to brown it and it adds such great color and crunch to your dishes.

Leave a Reply

