Blink…It’s Another Monday

Another Monday is here….I could swear it was just Friday and I was whining about going grocery shopping.  As we move toward the end of the year Monday’s seem to keep coming faster and faster.  Wish I could find a way to slow things down just a little bit.

Another busy weekend has come and gone, Josh and Kaylee spent time with their daddy messing around and having a good time, “Orange you glad you can see their big smiles?”

Oranges

Our little Eric was home sick with bronchitis….poor little man is on three different medications plus momma’s snuggle’s and kisses.  The snuggle’s and kisses are really the best medicine when you’re 4 and not feeling all that great.

Yesterday (Sunday) Mom made the “Three Envelope Pot Roast” in the slow cooker that I posted on the blog in October, you can find the recipe under the tab “Slow Cooker Recipes.”  Mom sent me a quick e-mail last night to let me know that she made the roast and that it was “fantastic,” dad loved it.  If you have not tried this yet you are missing out on a tender, tasty roast.

I made the roast again yesterday as well.  I turned on the slow cooker just before we left to take Josh to his football practice for the tournament next weekend.  When we got back home and I opened the door the house smelled incredible and when we sat to eat the roast, once again, was tender and tasty.

Since John was here for the weekend for his visit with Josh and Kaylee I made a sausage breakfast casserole on Sunday morning.  I still made chocolate chip pancakes for Josh, but papa and I need a break from pancakes.  I don’t remember where this recipe came from other than it’s from a bed and breakfast and I have been making it for about 14 years. or more.  I am not sure if the recipe is from a bed and breakfast that Walt and I stayed in or if I found it in a bed and breakfast cookbook.  What I do know is that this recipe is easy to make, is delicious and re-heats perfectly for the next day as well.

When I can find it, I use Bob Evans Maple roll sausage, unfortunately the roll Maple is hard to find so I use the Sage instead.  You don’t have to use Swiss cheese, use any kind of shredded cheese that you prefer, I’ve used Swiss, Cheddar even Mexi Blend.  You can add just about anything to make it your own, bacon, a little onion or any type of veggie, we happen to like it with just the sausage and cheese.

This dish is a hit at our house, Nikki loves it, Johnny love it and so does Walt.  Make it your way and serve it with fresh fruit.

 

Sausage Breakfast Casserole

What You’ll Need:

1             8 Count Crescent Roll – (Original)

1 lb.       Roll or bulk breakfast sausage

6            Eggs

2 tbsp.  Milk

1 cup      Swiss Cheese (or cheese ofyour choice)

Salt and pepper

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  • Brown sausage breaking it into small chunks as it cooks – Drain grease
  • Roll our Crescent rolls in the bottom of a 13×9″ baking dish make sure you pinch the seams together

Sausage Breakfast Casserole

  • Spread cooked sausage over the crescent rolls

Sasusage Breakfast Casserole

  • Whisk eggs with 2 tbls. milk – pour eggs over sausage

Sausage Breakfast Casserole

  • Sprinkle cheese over top of casserole

Sausage Breakfast Casserole

  • Bake 30 minutes or until set and golden brown
  • Let sit a few minutes – cut into squares and serve.

Breakfast Casserole

Leave a Reply

