My Friday Surprise

Yesterday Walt came home from work with a little bit of a surprise for me, he was asked to change his schedule today and work 7:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m..  Of course there was no way he would say no, it means that we are actually going to have a normal Friday night.  I love when that happens because it happens so rarely, it will be nice to have dinner at normal hour and then have all of our evening together.

Right now the house is quiet, my weekly menu planner is complete all I need to do is add a few additional items to my grocery list and I’ll be ready for grocery shopping.  On one hand I keep thinking it should go smoothly because the kids will be school when I head out to do my shopping, but on the other hand it is November 2 which means that social security, pension and state aid checks have been delivered and everyone will be out doing their much-needed grocery shopping.  I’m afraid this is a no win situation today, I can almost bet that the stores will be crowded, unfortunately grocery shopping is necessary so I’ll suck it up like a big girl and get it done.  Walt suggested that I wait and we go together (I am sure it’s because he thinks I don’t buy enough junk food) but I don’t want to waste a night together grocery shopping.

This has been a pretty good week for new recipes, Cheesy Swiss Eggs On Biscuits, Baked Chicken and Dumplings, Shrimp Scampi and today’s recipe, Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken and Rice which I actually made Tuesday night.   I found this recipe through Pinterst on “Christy Jordan’s Southern Plate” blog.  As always I tried to see if she had a connection or link to this recipe through another site but did not see a link so I am attaching a link to her site and the recipe.

http://www.southernplate.com/2010/09/slow-cooker-cheesy-chicken-and-rice-the-downside-of-being-a-swan-princess.html

We really enjoyed this dish and it reheated very well for Walt’s lunch the next day.  This one is going to become a regular on our slow cooker rotation.  Enjoy, we did!!

Slow Cooker Cheesy Chicken And Rice

Crock Pot Cheesy Chicken and Rice
What You’ll need:
  • 4 boneless skin-less chicken breasts
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 -8 ounce box Zatarain’s Yellow Rice Mix, cooked according to directions
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese (I used and 8 oz bag)
  • 1 – 10.5 ounce can cream of chicken soup (regular or fat-free)
  • 1 -15 ounce can whole kernel corn, drained

Instructions

  1. Place chicken in bottom of slow cooker.
  2. Scatter chopped onion over top.
  3. Spoon cream soup over top of that.
  4. Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours or on high 3-4 hours.
  5. A few minutes before serving, add in cooked rice, corn, and cheese.  (SEE NOTE BELOW)
  6. Stir to combine.
  7. Serve hot.

NOTE:  The rice takes at least 30 minutes to prepare, 25 minutes to simmer and 5 minutes to sit.  You can make the rice earlier in the day, the day before or you can make it right before you’re going to add it to the slow cooker, which is what I did then added the corn to the rice before adding it to the slow cooker.

 

Leave a Reply

