Scampering for Scampi!

Monday night I made an incredible dinner, Shrimp Scampi over white rice, it was delicious.  I finally found a smaller can of Old Bay Seasoning and decided to try the recipe I found.  The $2.49 price tag was much easier to take than the $8.69/can that Meijer wanted for the larger can.  Of all places to find something reasonably priced it was actually at Randazzo’s which usually charges one and half times the amount you pay at the grocery store.

Shrimp Scampi with Old Bay Seasoning

But it doesn’t matter, I found my small can and I made the scampi with uncooked shrimp which I have avoided for years, afraid that I couldn’t or wouldn’t cook it right and we’d get sick.   But no more, the fear is gone I cooked those little shrimp and they turned pink just like the were supposed to and they were fabulous.  Just the right amount of garlic and seasoning and when you put them in your mouth they melted!!

There was just one little problem……..I didn’t make enough, well Walt didn’t think I made enough.  Remember this past summer when Walt and I made the shrimp skewer appetizers for dinner?  It was kind of like that.  I bought a pound of shrimp and thought it would be more than enough for the two of us but Walt was still a little hungry after we devoured what I made.  I was fine, Walt was looking for more.  I think it wasn’t the fact that I didn’t make enough but really more that it was so delicious that Walt wanted more so next time I’ll make 2 lbs. of shrimp.  I”m sure we won’t eat it all but it won’t go to waste, Walt will probably take what’s left the next day to work for lunch and I won’t have to worry about him scampering for thirds on the scampi!

Even tough we loved this recipe and I will make it again, there are a few other scampi recipes that I found recently and will be trying those as well.  For now, here is the McCormick link and of course the recipe.  For all you shrimp lovers, try it, you won’t be disappointed.

http://www.mccormick.com/Recipes/Main-Dish/OLD-BAY-Shrimp-Scampi.aspx

 

Shrimp Scampi

 

SHRIMP SCAMPI

What You’ll Need:

1/3 cup olive oil

4  cloves garlic, minced

1 pound large shrimp, peeled and deveined

1 1/2 teaspoons OLD BAY® Seasoning

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon  McCormick® Parsley Flakes

Directions
  • Heat oil in large skillet on medium heat.
  • Add garlic; cook and stir 30 seconds or until fragrant. (Do not brown.)
  •  Add shrimp and Old Bay; cook and stir 3 to 4 minutes or until shrimp turn pink.
  • Stir in lemon juice and parsley.
  •  Serve over cooked pasta or rice, if desired.
2 thoughts on “Scampering for Scampi!

    • I love shrimp but have always been leary of making it because I wasn’t sure of the whole “till it turns pink.” When I found this recipe and it actually listed how many minutes to saute’ the shrimp I felt a little more comfident. Try this recipe, it was so easy and tasty!! If you do, let me know how it turned out for you.

Leave a Reply

