Brisk and Wild……

First we’d like to say that our hearts and prayers go out to all of those on the East coast affected by Sandy.   Watching the news coverage I can’t even begin to imagine what it’s like to be hit with winds at 85-90 mph bringing huge waves and flood waters with it.  Traffic lights falling, decks flying away, sides of buildings blowing off, history washing away, scary and sad.  It’s also hard to imagine that as you’re talking about torrential rains in one state, the coverage switches to blizzards in another.

It’s amazing to me that even though we are some 660 miles east of  New Jersey (give or take a few miles) where Superstorm Sandy hit land last night, here in Michigan we’ve experienced a little of her temper, the cold and wet winds whipping through here at up to 40-50 miles per hour.  My pumpkin witch decided to fly into the night, thank goodness papa found him in the driveway.

This morning will prove to be a perfect day to just hang out inside and cook!  I’ll have dinner in the slow cooker later this morning, a chicken and rice dish I’ve been wanting to try, the recipe will be posted tomorrow.  I’ll also have my sausage/beef pasta sauce on to simmer so it’ll be ready for tomorrow when I make my lasagna for our Halloween dinner with my parents.  Decided on lasagna because it’s one of those dishes I can make in the morning and throw in the oven later today.

Later this afternoon I’ll head downriver to see Eric in his school’s Halloween Parade, can’t wait, his first school party, Halloween!!  Eric’s parade is today because he doesn’t have school on Wednesday’s, so glad that they didn’t just skip it all together and they are making the effort to do it the day before.  I can’t wait to see Eric walk in his first parade, he is such a character this is going to be exciting for him!   So…Eric’s parade will kick-off our family Halloween festivities this year!!

As I write and look out my window and catch bits and pieces of our local news, I am learning that more and more schools are being added to the list of school closures.  I hope Eric’s is not one of them, I’ll check with Nikki in a bit to make sure pre-school has not been cancelled.

When Eric came over on Friday, we made this Chicken and Dumpling recipe that I found on Pinterest posted by Plain Chicken.  Although it was tasty, I am sad to say that this was the first recipe I’ve tried from that site that I wasn’t impressed with.  Nikki, Walt and I all agree it needs more added to it.  Eric of course loved it, asked for seconds and told me that I needed to make sure his mom knew how to make it.

Many years ago, probably when Nikki and John were Eric’s age (somewhere around 1985) I found a chicken pot pie recipe in a Good Housekeeping magazine, it was made almost identical to this basic recipe with the exception that you added mixed veggies, you used buttermilk instead of regular milk and added tarragon.  We never considered it a true pot pie because it only had a crust on top and not on the bottom, but Good Housekeeping published it as a Pot Pie.  The Good Housekeeping recipe is so good that through the years as Nikki and John got older, I had to make two 13×9 pans so that there was enough for them to dig into leftovers as they came and went.

Please don’t get me wrong, this is/was tasty, everyone had seconds.  But I think because it somewhat resembled the one that I made, it’s what my family was looking for.  Not everyone likes mixed veggies, this is great recipe if you want to serve veggies on the side and/or a big garden salad.

Here is the link to Plain Chicken and the Chicken and Dumpling recipe.   If you’re looking for a basic chicken and dumpling dish this is tasty, quick and easy.  http://www.plainchicken.com/2011/11/chicken-dumpling-casserole.html

Comfort Food, Chicken and Dumplings

Chicken & Dumpling Casserole

What You’ll Need:

3-4 cups of cooked chicken (I use a rotisserie chicken)
2 cups chicken broth
1/4 cup unsalted butter
1 cup flour
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1 can Campbell’s cream of chicken soup
Directions
  • Pre-heat oven to 400.
  • Melt butter in the microwave and pour into bottom of a 9×13 pan.
  • Shred the chicken and spread it on top of the butter.
    Whisk together the milk and the flour, baking powder and salt.
  • Slowly pour over the chicken.  Don’t stir.
    Whisk together chicken broth and cream of chicken soup.
  • Pour soup over the flour and milk mixture.  Don’t stir.
    Bake uncovered for 35 to 45 minutes, or until dumplings are golden brown.

Comfort Food, Chicken and Dumplings

Leave a Reply

