When One Little Oops….Turns Out Delicious

I had an oops moment yesterday…while at the market picking up my meats for the week instead of grabbing cubed pork to make breaded pork cutlets, I grabbed cubed beef also known as cube steak.  I don’t how I made the mistake but I did and I didn’t notice it until 5 minutes before I was about to start dinner.

I had no idea what to do with cubed steak, I’ve never used the steak I always make the pork so when in doubt….CALL MOMMA!!  And that I did, Mom helped me and she didn’t … sort of.  I learned how to make the breaded pork from my mom, years and years ago.  Imagine my surprise and confusion when she told me that she makes the beef like the pork and when she said she bakes it in the oven for an hour with a little onion and water I was completely confused.  I thought mom dredged the pork cutlets in flour, dipped them in egg then rolled them in bread crumbs and fried them.

It was actually kind of a comical conversation but we got it resolved.  Where did the oven method come from?  Well the oven method came from my “Boo” (Busia Misiak).  When I was very young, in elementary school actually, Busia was the head cook at a bank, if I remember correctly is was the executive private dinning room, she cooked for all of the bigwigs back in the day when such perks were common.  It was how Boo prepared cube steak for them.

For those who follow our little family blog you already know that Walt doesn’t get home until 9:30 p.m. from work so we eat a late dinner (when I am not working) and stay up late so that we’re not going to bed on a full stomach.  I didn’t have the time to pre-heat the oven and bake the cubed beef for an hour, so I made my own recipe and I am happy to say that they turned out deliciously tender and tasty.

One little Oops turned out delicious, the end result was a great dinner and a new recipe that I hadn’t planned on posting!  Love when that happens!!

Nancy’s Breaded Cubed Steak

What You’ll Need:

4              Cube steaks

1 Cup      Bread Crumbs

1 Cup      Flour

2              Eggs whisked with a little water

2 pkts.    McCormick’s Beef Gravy

4 tbsp.    Butter

1               Onion cut in half and sliced

Directions

  • Dredge cutlets in flour – egg – bread crumbs
  • Melt Butter in pan
  • Add cutlets – brown cutlets 5 minutes on each side
  • Drain grease
  • Mix gravy according to package directions
  • Return cutlets to pan
  • Pour gravy over cutlets
  • Add onions
  • Bring to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes

One thought on “When One Little Oops….Turns Out Delicious

  1. Pingback: This -n- That Thursday « rezichfamilykitchen

Leave a Reply

