Diving Into The Deep End……

Oh my gosh family and friends….I did it, I actually did something so out of character my insides are shaking.  I quit my job without notice.  Yes, yes I did.  I sent off an e-mail to the owner, my boss and the HR Manager then I gave my phone and office key to the manager of the office where I had an office and I walked out the front door.

Unfortunately this morning after I was told yet again that there was yet another “miss-communication” I knew I was done especially when my boss told me that discussions took place during my interview regarding these discrepancies.   They really didn’t know me that well, I am a person who documents EVERYTHING in business.  I have notes from the interview and notes from conversations after I was hired, so I know what was said and who said it and I know what wasn’t said.

It’s not just because of the whole compensation issue with the after hours phone, it’s many, many things.  It took a lot for me to walk out, it is not in my character to not give notice and to just walk away.  My best friend Tina who worked with me (she will tell she worked for me but I don’t look at that way) for many, many years has a nickname for me.  She calls me “SHERAH.”  When we worked together and I would tackle what others thought was impossible and I would make it happen.  “NO” and “You’ll never pull that off” were like catnip to a cat….I pounced on it taking everyone with me for that ride.  And we were successful, our office made millions a month and was always number one.  And although we did succeed, from time to time Tina would pull me aside and say “Hey Sherah, remember, we don’t all wear that “S” on our chest.”  Tina meant it lovingly, but it was her way of saying step back a bit.

I know exactly where Tina was coming from.  I do think there isn’t anything I can’t do, thanks to my parents who brought me up to believe that anything is possible.  So for me to walkout today was not just a big step into the unknown, I dove into the deep end without looking first and this is why I think, is why am so shaken…..this morning I became someone I didn’t recognize and I’m trying to figure out if I became someone who stuck up for themselves or if I just became a quitter no longer in or up for the fight.

Of course before I walked out I called Walt to let him know what the latest developments were and when I said I had to get out of there he said “I”m with you, do it now.”  It’s funny because Walt is usually the one who would let this worry  him, he is actually quite calm, I’m the one who is a mess….my insides jumping around like those little mexican jumping beans.

In the last week I’ve already sent out many resumes and I’ve put the word out to recruiting friends of mine.  Today I’ll be reaching out to my other professional contacts to let them know that I am no longer with this company, especially the ones that I had partnered with while in this job, I want them to know that I will no longer be associated with the company and to keep me in mind if they hear of any positions.

I am sure by Monday I will calm down…hopefully it won’t take that long.  I know in my heart I did the right thing.

4 thoughts on “Diving Into The Deep End……

  1. Oh yes, it sounds like you did the right thing for sure! You stood up for yourself and your principles, so you’re not a quitter.
    Good for you for sticking up for yourself and doing what you knew you had to do. Yahoo and good luck with your next step!

    • Thanks so much for the kind words and encouragement they are appreciated. As the day goes on and family and friends call and stop by to weigh in on my decision I am certain that I made the right choice. I am blessed to have so many supportive people in my life.

  2. You did the right thing Nancy. The rules changed….and so did you!! It’s a shame that your gifts weren’t valued there. I’m praying for the right fit for you and know that you will shine wherever you go! Blessings…

    • Hi Arlene, thank you for the kind and supportive words. Today (Sunday) I am feeling much more at peace with myself, my decision and our future. I have been in business long enough to know that changes in the workplace are the norm, that they are the foucus for improvement. But it’s like Walt keeps saying, “No one works 24 hours a day.” With the exception of parents, that is pretty much a true statement. I know something is waiting for me….maybe this was the push toward self employment, something I’ve always wanted to do. We’ll see what the next few weeks have in store.

Leave a Reply

