Gray-Chilly Saturday

It’s a cold Saturday here in Michigan, today is one of those days when you look out the window and you know, without a doubt that it is fall.  The sky is a light gray and you can feel the chill in the air.  Although we’ve had the furnace turned on for a while, I haven’t heard it actually kick on until this morning…brrrr.

Out came the booties my mom makes, they keep your feet toasty warm, as well as the old tattered sweater that both Josh and Walt think I should throw away (shhh, they are right it is horrible but it’s comfortable and I love wearing it on days like this).  Walt has been trying to get me to get rid of this sweater for some time, recently Josh and I were going out and I had the sweater on while we were in the house, I had every intention of taking it off before going shopping but evidently my Joshie thought I was going to wear it when I left.  He looked at me for a minute, thought about what he wanted to say then said “Grandma, you’re not gonna wear that to the store are you?”  Out of the mouths of babes.

To be fair, it’s not that bad, it’s not torn or tattered.  The sweater is a jacket type with a zipper, it was originally one of those sweaters that would shed and it did…so now you can kind of see through it. I only wear it in the house when I get a little chill.  It’s big and long and well quite frankly, it’s broken in and it’s not to heavy or bulky….here is where Walt would inject “Obviously…because it shed.”  I don’t care, so long as it keeps the chill off of me and I only wear it in the house, I’m keeping it.  When the time comes that it falls apart when washed I will discard it, for right now it holds up in the wash cycle….maybe coming out a little thinner each time, but still intact.

So….the dreaded “weekend/after-hours/on-call weekend…..not going well at all.  Keep in mind I am only supposed to get and field calls from my big, demanding client after hours.  Yesterday I received the first phone call at 5:10 p.m. and it had to do with an issue in one of our southern offices, I spent 20 minutes on that.  At 5:30 p.m. I received an ASAP order for one person for my client that I worked on until 8:30 p.m. and had no success in filling.  In between calling people for my client, I also fielded call regarding payroll issues.  So much for just my client.

This morning we were abruptly awakened at 5:15 a.m. by the shrill of the after hours phone.  An employee was calling to say that he could not make it into work at 6:00 a.m. because his son broke his leg last night playing football – understandable.  I contacted the client who asked me to get someone in ASAP.  As you can imagine, people don’t answer, family members were angry at being called at such an early hour, phone numbers are wrong, people either have not set up their voice mail or the voice mail is full, those that said they had a car but when I called they either needed to find a ride or take the bus which doesn’t work when you have to be there within an hour.  Of course there are those that did answer and just did not want to go to work today.  I made, call after call after call……..finally at 9:15 a.m. the client cancelled.

Needless to say I am tired and ready for a nap at 10:00 am….my sweet Walt is not happy.  He is blaming himself because I had one company interested in me for an EHS role plus I had interviewed for an HR Manager position at the same time this job came up.  Walt sort of talked me into taking this one, but it’s not his fault and it’s not mine.  As we do with everything, it was a mutual decision for me to take this job, based on the job description discussed during my interview, unfortunately things have changed, responsibilities increased as they do with everyone’s job and now “after hours” thing is another responsibility they want me to take on.  If it would have been presented in the interview or even at the time of the offer, I would have passed.

10:15 a.m. customer called again, need to make calls to make sure people are going to report to work Sunday night so I guess I’ll end my post here for today.

This stinks, I’m going to miss Joshua and Kaylee’s karate award ceremony in a half hour…color me as gray as the day is outside.

Enjoy your Saturday everyone!

4 thoughts on “Gray-Chilly Saturday

    • Thank you Arlene, appreciate the prayers and support. Walt and I have an awesome partnership, we discuss everything…we have a plan for our present and future and we both feel it’s important for us to be on the same page. If I would have said that I really wanted to take the other job Walt would have backed me 100% but he knew, based on the job I accepted and the responsiblities they told me I would have, this was the right path at the time. Who knew that 4 weeks into it the company would change the game plan so drastically.

Leave a Reply

