Change Is In The Air….

Change is in the air and not just the weather.  Yesterday was a great example of how fickle Michigan weather can be.  After Thursday’s crash course in “Prepare for Fall 101”, Friday actually turned out to be a pretty nice day.  Coming home from grocery shopping at 9:00 p.m. the temperatures were still the upper 50’s, in fact it was 58 degrees.  I drove with the windows slightly down, and didn’t have to wear a jacket.  Now a fall and winter like that I would not mind.

Friday has arrived, the dreaded hand off of the “After Hours Phone.”  I am not looking forward to this but at this point there is nothing I can do, I’m not the type of person who just up and quits.  The thought has cross my mind, but it’s not who I am.  I’ll see this through the week but I have already made the decision that this is not where I want to be at this point in my life.

Walt should not have to compromise his time or how we spend our time together.  Monday through Friday we only see each other 15 -20 minutes a day, I know, some people don’t even get to see their spouses and I am grateful for the 15-20 minutes that we get but we do love our weekends together, with our grandbabies and with our family.  This whole 7 days – 24 hour on call every other week thing is just not going to work into our lifestyle, I know this without a doubt.  If I had known that upfront, I would not have accepted the offer.

I know people don’t believe in the whole horoscope thing, but it’s funny…. Nikki has her horoscope delivered to her Facebook everyday.  On the day I accepted the offer for this job I clicked on her horoscope and hit the “other sign” button and read mine.  It said “An offer being made today is not all it seems, you are being misled.  Proceed with caution.”  I remember it only because I thought it was funny, I actually laughed and thought to myself that it wasn’t true because they told me that the office I was going to call home was a mess and going through some organizational changes, which is actually true.  Today as I think back on that day, I can only think that perhaps there was some truth to those words and the “misleading” would turn out to be this whole after-hours/on-call issue.

I am taking this as a sign that I’m headed in the right direction with my decision to actively look for another job.  I came home yesterday to a message on our voicemail, a head hunter would like to talk to be about three different positions. I am going to call her when I get a chance later today.  I could kick myself, I passed up two other opportunities in the last four weeks, not any more, I’m going to respond and interview, I can always say no.

On a more positive note, I was able to see Josh and Kaylee last night.  I went to their Karate class, took them to McDonalds and home.  I know this will be hard to believe but I have never had Josh and Kaylee in the car together.  OH MAN!!  The ten minute ride was filled with “Don’t touch me,”  “Keep your hands out of my face,” “Grandma make him stop singing that song.”  It was crazy in a fun sort of way.  It was normal, everyday, sibling bickering.

Since I am not sure how this weekend is going to go, I had to forego my Friday night shopping date with Walt and attempt to do my shopping last night.  Unfortunately this means that I wasn’t able to make the enchilada casserole that I had planned, so no new recipe today.  I have a few new things I am planning to try next week, I’ll post them after I make them.

Well, that’s all for me today, need to get ready for work.  Have a great Friday everyone!!

2 thoughts on “Change Is In The Air….

    • Oops … a little late responding, sorry about that. Actually I think I’m going to make the enchilada casserole tonight. If I do, I’ll post tomorrow and let you know how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

