Halfway to the Weekend…..

The week is going by rather quickly.  The work day goes by fast, which is always a good thing,  I’ve been able to make a few old and filed away recipes for us which turn out to be new for the blog, another good thing and I’ve posted everyday this month….so far, I don’t want to jinx myself.

Yesterday was a good day at work, I spent most of it on the road hanging up flyers in restaurants and stores and going to visit Church’s in the area to ask if we could put up a flyer on their community boards.  Out of the half-dozen Church’s that I visited yesterday, only one told me that I should go through the company that prints their Sunday bulletin and purchase an ad, the other five took flyers for their boards AND asked me to e-mail our flyer so that they could send out a “e-mail blasts,”  send them to group leaders and other program leaders.  I also offered to hold mini job fairs for the congregation as well as a resume writing seminar.

Today’s post is a short one, last night I made Maple-Glazed Meat Loaf.  I found the recipe in Pillsbury’s “Quick Comfort Food” many, many years ago.  Walt and I both loved it but for one reason or another I always seem to find my way back to my Brown Sugar Meat Loaf.  I need to remember this time to switch them up when I make meat loaf because we really do like this one.

Although I found my original recipe well over 5 years ago in one of the little Pillsbury books you can find at the grocery store checkout, I did an internet search and found it so I’m putting the link in for anyone who wants to go right to the Pillsbury site.

http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/maple-glazed-meat-loaf/a9f894af-d7b0-4342-85a8-43a6946a9d8c?p=1

This is really a great, tasty recipe….try it, you’ll love it.

 

Pillsbury’s Maple Glazed Meat Loaf

What You’ll Need:   

                                             1  teaspoon beef bouillon granules
                                            1/4  cup hot water
                                             1.5 lbs. lean ground beef
                                             3/4  cups coarse cracker crumbs
                                             1/2  cup chopped onion
                                            1/2 tsp garlic powder
                                             1/4 tsp pepper
                                            1/3 cup ketchup
                                            1/8 tsp. hot pepper sauce, if desired
                                            1  egg slightly beaten
Glaze
                                            1/2 cup ketchup
                                            1/2 cup maple-flavored syrup
Directions:
  • Heat oven to 350°F.
  • In large bowl, dissolve beef bouillon in hot water.
  • Add remaining meat loaf ingredients; mix well.
  • Spoon mixture into ungreased 8×4-inch loaf pan or shape mixture into 8×4-inch loaf in ungreased 12×8-inch (2-quart) glass baking dish.
  •  Bake 1 1/4 hours or until beef is thoroughly cooked in center and meat thermometer reaches 160°F.
  • Remove pan from oven.
  • In small bowl, combine glaze ingredients. Brush top of meat loaf with glaze.
  • Let stand, covered, 5 to 10 minutes before slicing.
  • Serve with remaining glaze.

Makes 6 servings

Leave a Reply

