Befuddled……

I am just a little befuddled today……disappointed….a little frustrated….confused and it all has to do with my new job and changes that are coming that weren’t discussed during the interview and were not included in my offer letter.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, the job that I have been doing for the last three weeks….recruiting.

The staffing company that I now work for is small, it is family owned and does not have a lot of name recognition.  I love facilitating the job fairs, meeting new people, getting out of the office and introducing myself and my company.  It’s been a very fulfilling role and I’ve managed to put many people back to work, even if it is for just a short time.  There is no longer a white space on their resume, they will be able to fill it in with a current job….for some even the ability to boast new skills.

Yesterday afternoon I asked for a meeting with my boss, it was promted by a conversation I had with another employee on Friday regarding my taking over the after-hours phone every other week for a very demanding and high volume client.  I was confused because when I was hired I was told that I would be on-call every other weekend for this client and I would be compensated for the weekend, a flat rate for Friday night, Saturday and Sunday.  Now someone was telling me that I was required to take the phone for a week without compensation for those 2:00 a.m. phone calls during the week which, I am told are the norm with this client.

During the meeting yesterday my boss, who would not look me directly in the eye when I questioned her about it, said that she was sorry that it wasn’t communicated or perhaps miscommunicated that I would indeed be required to take the after-hours phone for a week at time.  In addition to fielding calls and trying to send people out to work at all hours of the night…..yes, I have to call and get people out of bed to see if they want to go to work…I will still be required to work my normal 8:00 a.m.  to 5:00 p.m.

I am…..befuddled!  I love what I am doing right now, I took the job at not much of an annual salary because it involved everything about HR that I love….the recruiting.  Taking the job was not about the money, it was about the position and the responsibilities I was told I would have.  Now, four weeks into the job things are changing, I can’t seem to get a straight answer as to how crazy it gets after hours, all I can get out of the person who has been handling it is “Oh my God, it gets so crazy!”  That does not tell me anything.

I don’t want to give up my job…I don’t want to look for a new one.  My week starts this Friday, I guess I’ll take the phone and see how things go this weekend and next week and make my decision after that.  I’ll keep everyone posted.

The highpoint of my day yesterday was getting to see my little man Eric during my lunch hour.  I had a meeting downriver that ended shortly before Eric was heading off to school for the afternoon.  I met Nikki and Eric at his school and was able to spend a few minutes with him and then we walked into the school together and I met his teacher.

Eric is really enjoying school, he told me he has learned nothing except how to play….he said that playing is all they do all day.  I am sure that is not entirely true, it just seems like that to our little guy.  All that matters is that he loves going to school….he runs inside and hugs his teacher as soon as he sees her.  He takes off as soon as he is signed in at the door, giving his momma (and grandma today) huge hugs and then takes off toward his classroom.  I am so happy he loves it.

Last night I made Oven Ranch Chicken to go with the cheesy potatoes that I made on Sunday.  Usually I serve this with a Knorr rice side but since we had the potatoes left from yesterday’s dinner I switched my meal plans around this week so that I could serve them together.

I originally found this recipe on the Pillsbury recipe site and of course I made a few minor tweaks but nothing major.  Here is the link to the original recipe:

http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/oven-ranch-chicken/d8ab10cd-6bdd-49f7-a169-adafc91a42bc#

Here is my slightly “tweaked” version.

Oven Ranch Chicken

What You’ll Need:

4                    Boneless/skin-less chicken breasts

1/2 Cup        Plain bread crumbs (I increased the amount from 1/3)

1 pkt.            Ranch Salad Dressing Mix

1/2 Cup       Sour Cream (I increased the amount from 1/3)

2 -3 tbsp      Ranch Salad Dressing (I used Kraft) – this is my tweak

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 375 degrees
  • In one shallow bowl mix together bread crumbs and the dry ranch salad dressing mix
  • In a second shallow bowl whisk together the sour cream with the bottled Ranch dressing
  • Dip each chicken piece in the sour cream/ranch dressing mixture then roll in the bread crumbs

  • Place on a cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray (I cover my tray with foil then spray the cooking spray on the foil)

  • Bake 30-40 minutes until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear
  • Serve and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Befuddled……

  1. Oh my, what a disaster you are in! Can’t imagine the middle-of-the-night stuff! Makes no sense unless they want to hire a specific person for that, including night shift/call pay. Keep communicating with your supervisor. Hope it works out!
    Great recipe. Looks yummy!

    • Hi Alexandria, thanks for stopping by and yes it is kind of a disaster, but I am going to stay positive and see how the weekend and next week go with this “after hours” schedule. I am with you on hiring someone for “after hours” I suggested a stay at home mom who wants to earn a little extra cash, we could give her remote access to our system and she could work from home, of couse the answer was “No” they don’t want to spend the money. We’ll see how this turns out. As for the recipe, it is one of our favorites especially for me, it’s so quick and easy. Take care for now!!

      • Yes, that would be the perfect person. I work with such a person. She takes call Monday night through Thursday night and is able to care for her children during the day. My workplace has some great “think outside the box” ideas. Other workplaces need to consider these type things. The world is changing and investing in employees is the new trend. Your company needs to get on board! They will make and save money in the long run.
        An idea—present them with a workable plan on paper, with cost and possible earnings. They have got to be working with an outdated formula. Present them with a win-win plan. Maybe they’ll think about it.

  2. I feel for you. It is a bit disconcerting when you start a new job and it turns out to not be what you signed up for. But that is a wise decision – see how it goes before deciding to cut and run. I’ve been at my current job for 4 years – I thought for sure I’d be gone after the second week when the director that created the position and hired me was let go. I was in limbo for awhile. Good luck and hope it all works out for you.

    • Hi Nicole, glad to hear things worked out for you with your job, I am hoping for the same. I really do like the part of the job they hired me for, that truly is the reason I have not “cut bait and run” as they say. I am sure this adventure will find it’s way into my blog over the next week. Take care for now!

Leave a Reply

