Drifting Into A Routine…….

Monday was another gorgeous day in Michigan…..wish we could have weather like this all year minus the trees that already turning red, yellow and orange.  As the days drift further into fall I’m drifting into a routine both at work and home.

Today is another story, at 5:30 a.m. it’s raining…a steady drizzle.  You don’t have to go outside to feel it, you already know it’s a cold, fall rain.  This will be one of those days that I wish I was in the office, thankfully I’ll be at an all day career fair so technically I won’t be in and out of the car and buildings in the rain.

My work day was busy yesterday, I can’t believe how quickly it flew by.  We hired a new CSR who started yesterday so I made myself a promise that I am going to start pulling back from the day-to-day office routine, I have to, they are getting used to me being in the office, that’s not where I’m supposed to be.

I spent my afternoon visiting Armed Services recruiting Offices and apartment complexes.  There are so many ways to think outside the box to find people to work.  It was nice to be on the road visiting different places and meeting new people.

I had a meeting with my boss when I returned to the office, we’ve decided that I’m going to work very little from the office since the staff tends to want to pull me into what is going on.  I’ll be on the road and working more from home, they’ve given me remote access and cell phone to make that possible.  Yahoo!   After she and I met and agreed on my routine, we met with the office staff so that they understand they are responsible for processing who I send in.  I recruit, they process.  I will admit it’s hard for me to watch them struggle.  I ran very successful multimillion dollar branches, it’s in my blood and nature to want to turn things around.

At home things are also drifting into a routine as well, probably a little slower than at work.  But I’m getting there and I am making a few new recipes this week.  Since I won’t be getting pulled into late nights at the office and will get home at a more reasonable hour or even working from here things will fall into place.

A quick update….Walt and I both had some of the roast beef and mashed potatoes for lunch Monday.  It was as delicious Monday as it was on Sunday, in fact, I thought it might have been even better.  I wanted to lick the plate clean (just kidding – not quite, I used bread).  There is absolutely no doubt now that we will be having the Three Envelope Pot Roast again.

Last night I made Taco Pasta which I also found on Pinterest from Plain Chicken

http://www.plainchicken.com/2010/09/taco-pasta.html.

At first I was afraid it would taste like the Taco Stroganoff that I made and posted but I am very pleased to say that it has a different flavor and for some people it may be just a little bit spicier.  When you serve it, you can add sour cream to the top to cut down on the heat.

This is very easy and quick to make.  My only suggestion and what I’ll make sure to do the next time is to cook my pasta first.  The sauce cooks quick so if you cook the pasta then throw together the sauce you can add the pasta right away and you won’t have to worry about over cooking your sauce.

Perfect recipe for those crazy, hectic days and you want something “homemade.”

TACO PASTA

What You’ll Need:

1 pound ground beef
8 ounce small dry pasta shapes
1 small onion, chopped (or 1 Tbsp minced onion flakes)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 cup salsa
1 packet taco seasoning
3 ounce cream cheese
1/2 cup sour cream
Salt and pepper
Shredded Cheese for topping

Directions:

  • Bring a large pot of water to boil.
  • Cook pasta according to the package directions.
  • Drain, reserving 1/2 cup of pasta water.  Set aside.
  • Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook the ground meat and onion over medium-high heat until no longer pink.
  • Once the meat is cooked through, drain off the excess fat and mix in the garlic. Cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  • Mix in the salsa and taco seasoning and let simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes.
  • Stir in the cooked pasta, cream cheese, sour cream and reserved pasta water, and continue stirring until the cream cheese is melted and the sauce is well blended.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  • Top with shredded cheese and more sour cream and salsa if desired.

Leave a Reply

