Crock Pot Conquest!!!

Surprise!!  It’s Monday (and October 1) and I’m posting, but let’s not get too far ahead of ourselves, it is only Monday, we are coming out of the weekend and two days off, anything can happen from this point forward that interrupts my ability to post on a daily basis.  But it is my goal to get back into my writing routine, one step at a time.

We had an absolutely amazing Sunday even though at first it looked like rain might be moving in before the big football game.  The Packers didn’t win and they didn’t lose….they tied 25 to 25 it was an awesome game, a sit on the edge of your seat kind of game.  It was so intense that I forgot my promise to myself to sit and be a good “bleacher creature” and not yell out…..I just couldn’t help myself when one of our little guys whose name I didn’t know ran the ball for 40 yards, he did so well, I literally jumped up, pumped my hands in the air and yelled….”Run baby run!!!”  I am a former hockey mom…..I do “bleacher creature” well….very well.

By the end of the game the sun was out and it was a gorgeous fall day, rain never fell.  We all wore our “Team Josh” hoodies and received many compliments on them.  I was glad that Mio was at the game so that she could hear the compliments herself since she put in so much work into making them for all of us.

It was nice to come home from the game, smell dinner cooking (the smell was amazing) and to know that I only had a few things to do before it would all be ready for us to dig in.  The Papa Walt and Josh hung out in the back yard hitting a few balls while I came in and started the rest of our dinner.

I peeled potatoes and put them on to boil for mashed potatoes.  I opened a can of green beans, drained them and got them ready for the microwave.  When the potatoes were ready I drained them and put them in a bowl with butter, cheese, a splash of half and half and cream cheese, mashed them and put a lid on them to keep warm.

I took the roast out of the crock pot and placed it on a dish and covered it with foil….it was fall apart tender and made your mouth water, however I still wasn’t convinced that it wasn’t going to have an “after taste.”  Walt helped me pour the juice into a pot, I brought it to a boil and thickened it with flour and a little water.  I must add that this was OMG gravy…it is one of the most flavorful gravies I have ever made.

Everything prepared I was ready to taste…..I will be honest I wasn’t excited, I really expected it to taste “plastic like” like it had so many times before when I cooked other recipes on low for 8-9 hours.  The meat was tender as I expected it would be, but much to my surprise the taste was phenomenal!!  I am so pleased at how this recipe turned out, it will have a spot on our rotation.  Walt loved it and said to make sure we make it again.

So the question I’m left with is whether or not it’s letting things cook longer that gives it a funny taste to us?  Did letting it slow cook 5 hours rather than 8-9 hours make a difference?  Maybe, maybe not….in any case, this recipe is delicious and I am looking forward to making it again and trying a few new ones as well.

I found this recipe on Pinterest….on Plain Chicken.com http://www.plainchicken.com/2012/01/three-envelope-pot-roast-slow-cooker.html#more.  I was really skeptical at how a few, unlikely combination of envelopes, mixed together with salsa and water, was going to make the tasty pot roast that everyone was raving about.  Well I was pleasantly surprised……it’s delicious.  If you haven’t tried “Three Envelope Pot Roast” in your slow cooker you’re missing out.  This is a fantastic recipe, give it a try.

THREE ENVELOPE POT ROAST

What You’ll Need:

1 3-4 lb beef roast  (I used a 2.5 lb. roast)
1 cup water
1 cup salsa (or water if you don’t want it spicy)
1 envelope onion soup mix
1 envelope Italian dressing mix
1 envelope Au Jus mix

Directions:

  • Whisk together water, salsa and seasoning packets.
  • Place roast in slow cooker.
  • Pour seasoning mixture over roast.
  • Cook on low for 8-10 hours, or high for 4-5 hours. (I cooked mine on high 5 hours)

Well, time to get ready to start my week…….have a great Monday everyone!!

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Conquest!!!

  1. Oh my, sounds luscious! If I use mild salsa is it still too spicy? Husband doesn’t like much spice.
    I will have to say I use Zesty Italian dressing on so many meats. I baste chicken on the grill with it. I use it for beef marinade and it makes the best gravy. One of our most favorite dishes is lemon-pepper chicken. You sprinkle the chicken with lemon-pepper and drizzle the Zesty Italian on it and bake. It is a family favorite.
    I’m definitely going to try this one, though!

    • Hi!! Ohhhh, this was not only good on Sunday, Walt and I both took a little for lunch on Monday (today) and it was delicious!!!

      I used the regular dressing, not zesty but I bet the Zesty Italian would give it a nice little kick. I used Ortega Thick and Chunky Mild Salsa and it wasn’t too spicy at all.

      Your chicken on the grill sounds yummy!! If you try this let me know how you liked it!

Leave a Reply

