Finally…..An Offer

I am very happy and excited to share my good news with everyone!  I am now joining the ranks of the employed!!  Yes friends after 14 months of searching, feeling rejected, old, unwanted and miserable……I have received a job offer and I have accepted.

Although a year of being unemployed may not seem like a lot to many who have been unemployed for several years, I was there with you.  I was unemployed for two and a half years, went back to work for a year and was laid off yet again and have spent a little over a year once again looking for employment.

Many will be surprised that it is not a management position but I am really OK with that.  I wanted to take a step back…redirect my energy, go back to the industry that gave me my start, my confidence and my experience.  I am going back into the staffing industry basically in a Sr. Recruiter role for light industrial clients.  I am so excited and ready to get started, my first day will be Friday a day filled with meetings and orientation.

It is so ironic how this all came about.  On Tuesday morning around 11:00 a.m. I was at my lap top working diligently on a cover letter when Walt walked by and asked what I was feverishly typing.  I told him a cover letter for a recruiting position in Sterling Heights.  I also said some thing like “not that I expect a call or anything but I’ll keep plugging along.”  I hit the send button.

An hour and fifteen minutes later my cell phone rang, it was the recruiter from this company thanking me for submitting my resume and asking if I would be available Wednesday morning for an interview in the corporate office in a city close by.  We agreed on 10:00 a.m.  I started to get a little excited, I sent Walt a text to let him know that I had heard from one of the companies I had applied to that morning.

Wednesday was a whirlwind…..I interviewed at 10:00 a.m., by 10:45 a.m. I was meeting the COO of the company.  I had a great rapport with both the recruiter and the COO, I think that if he would not have had a meeting scheduled we would have chatted a little longer sharing staffing “war stories.”  The recruiter took me on a tour of the corporate office and said that they would be making a decision soon.

Around 1:00 p.m. my cell phone rang, it was the recruiter.  She asked if it would be possible for me to interview with the person I would report to, she just happened to be at the Sterling Heights office (which is 10 minutes from home) that afternoon and asked if I could be there at 3:30 p.m.  Of course I agreed!!

The interview went well, it was pretty quick  about 30 minutes or so.  By the time I got home, changed out of my suit into jeans and started to walk down the hallway my cell phone began to ring.  It was the recruiter offering me the job!!  I wasn’t home 15 minutes and the phone was ringing!!  I was so happy and excited.

I won’t be making the kind of money that I made at my last position, in fact it is a very substantial decrease but right now, at this moment, when I have applied to more jobs than I care to admit, this one is actually the one that will allow me to reroute my career in the direction that I want to go in.  I am a firm believer that sometimes you have to take two steps back in order to go 10 steps forward and I am good with that taking this position.

I had an interview late last week for an HR Manager position, they said it would be a few weeks before they made a decision.  It’s funny, because I knew as soon as I walked out the door that I really didn’t want the job, I didn’t think that I made a connection with the operations manager.  Of course if offered I would have taken it, I would have worked hard as I always do, I would have been successful but eventually I would have hated it, because I know that right now that’s not where I want to be.  I don’t know…..maybe it’s just that I’m burned out.

I was excited about the recruiting position as soon as I learned more about it during my interview, and I knew that I wanted to be the candidate who received the offer letter.  I am sure at first it will be a few extra hours but I’m good with that.  I am looking forward to the challenge, the excitement and the rewards this position is sure to bring.

It is not my intent to forget about my blog, it may take a little bit of time to adjust to work and writing but my goal is to keep things moving right along.  There may be a few hiccups here or there, I hope my blogging friends will bear with me through this transition.

For those who are still looking for employment, hang in there.  I’ve been in the trenches with you feeling like there is nowhere to go.  Just keep at it, don’t give up.  Remember, sometimes you have to go backward a few steps before your can move forward.

I am sorry to say no recipe today, yesterday was crazy lots of phone calls and text of congratulations it was easier to pick up Chicken Shack!!

Have a great Thursday everyone!!

9 thoughts on “Finally…..An Offer

  1. Congratulations! It is definitely not an easy job market out there. I’m employed, and for now just making the most of my current position. Good luck, sounds like the job is a good fit for you.

  2. We can feel your excitement and enthusiasm through the wires! Best of luck! Better you than me. LOL! I don’t want to work, I just want to bang on the drum all day! I’ve had 37 years of corporate America. You can have it, I don’t want it. I’d rather be poor! LOL.

Leave a Reply

