In Your Own Time

In Your Own Time

Stunned and bewildered

your balance is off

 

Confidence fleeting

you distance yourself

I know why you do this

I’ve been there myself

 

The burden you carry

is familiar to me

you’re hoping to silence

the thoughts in your head

 

Family and friends

they love you so much

all want to help you

but it’s not up to us

 

In your own time

you’ll figure things out

just take a deep breath

as you sort these things out

 

Take this timeout

but remember one thing

we’re always right here

should you need anything

4 thoughts on “In Your Own Time

  1. This is beautiful. I have a family member going through the same thing. He just confessed his problem to the family. This will be perfect for him.
    Well done.
    On a side note, I am finally working on the award post. For now I have put you on my blogroll.
    Peace,
    Alexandria Sage

    • Hi Alexandria, it is very difficult to watch those you love, especially when it’s your children at any age, go through lifes trials and tribulations. I’m a fixer, I always think that somehow I am supposed to make things better for them. Deep in my heart, and it took me a few days to get there, I finally remembered that I needed my space too when going through the same thing. I knew she would read the poem and understand my message to her. And thanks so much for the blogroll spot, that was sweet of you. There’s a little bit to the award responses isn’t there? Take your time. LOL. Nancy

  2. This is so sweet! I have that problem often. My mind is constantly full of thoughts. I have such a hard time sorting it all out and it gets confusing, and I always forget that I have people around me who are always there for me.

    • Hi, thanks so much for your comment. I wrote this for my daughter who is going through a little bit of a tough time, the mom in me wants to make it better, life experience pulls me back and reminds me that she has to do this on her own. I just needed to make sure she knows we’re here when she needs us. Friends can come and go…..family is forever, glad you have one you can count on too.

Leave a Reply

