Grandma “Ribs” Papa Walt

Last night was “Grandma Takes Over The Grill” night and guess what…it wasn’t chicken!!  Last night I made Grilled Country Ribs, my delicious cole slaw and cheesy O’Brien potatoes.

Of course Papa Walt jokingly (I think he was joking) sent a text from work saying he would bring his chisel to dinner.  Funny Papa, very funny, don’t quit the day job.  I think Walt might be feeling just a little bit threatened that I am becoming more comfortable with the grill.  Sausages and chicken breasts are one thing, but now I am really getting into Walt’s territory and area of expertise…..ribs!

All in all things turned out pretty well.  The only disappointment I had was with the ribs.  When I baked them in the oven they shrunk, a lot.  It wouldn’t have been so bad but there were only six, I only bought one pack and there were six in the pack and they were good size when I put them in the baking dish, the ribs were only half the size when they came out of the oven.

The ribs were tender, the sauce was yummy!  Walt said they very tasty, he liked the sauce.  Were they good?  Yes.  Were they as delicious as Walt’s?  Probably not.  But I made them and that’s an accomplishment for this Granny who has shied away grilling for almost 10 years.  I stepped out of my comfort zone that’s a plus!

This recipe was taken from Allrecipes.com.

Here is the link; http://allrecipes.com/recipe/grilled-country-ribs/detail.aspx

 

Grilled Country Ribs

 

GRILLED COUNTRY RIBS

Ingredients

4 pounds      Country style pork ribs

1 medium      Onion – chopped

2                      Garlic cloves, minced

1/4 cup           Vegetable oil

1 cup               Ketchup

1/4 cup           Packed brown sugar

1/4 cup            Cider vinegar

1/4 cup            Hot pepper sauce

2 tbsp              Worcestershire sauce

2 tbsp              Prepared mustard

Directions

Ribs

  • Place ribs in a greased 13-in. x 9-in. x 2-in. baking dish.
  • Cover and bake at 350 degrees F for 1-1/2 hours or until no longer pink.

BBQ Sauce

  • Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, saute the onion and garlic in oil until tender.
  • Stir in the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Set aside.

Grilling  

  • Drain ribs.
  • Grill, covered, over indirect low heat for 45 minutes, turning once.
  • Baste with barbecue sauce.
  • Grill 15 minutes longer or until meat is tender, turning and basting frequently.

Grilled Country Ribs
Delicious!!

5 thoughts on “Grandma “Ribs” Papa Walt

  1. I can’t wait to get back here and blog with you. I am still waiting to get Internet hooked up … :(. Apparently the CSR I spoke with at the telephone company didnt turn in my order. I finally called yesterday and another person got it right. She said she would get me squeezed in…. Next week. Have a great Labor day (would have been husbands 55th birthday) we are going to grave..lay flowers and then have family get together and remember him.

Leave a Reply

