Hungry Hungry Hippo….Whack!

When you think about hippo’s or see them in the zoo, what’s your first impression?  Mine is that they are quiet, laid back.  Actually they appear pretty lazy, floating around in the water like some kind of Navy Seal on a mission only their beady little eyes and ears poking above the water.  His or her butt alone can weigh a half a ton…..why don’t they sink?

Hippo’s lay around basking in the sun all day then at night they go off munching on grass and water plants, taking their time enjoying a leisurely meal for about 5 or 6 hours!  Hippo’s do not appear to be in any hurry to get anywhere.  In fact, hippo’s are pretty inactive, they live a sedentary life unless of course they are eating.  Eating is probably the most active they get all day!!

Which brings us now to a game with hippo’s…Hungry, Hungry Hippo’s.  Have you heard of the game “Hungry, Hungry Hippo’s?”  We have and for the life of me, based on my limited knowledge of the Hippo world, I wonder why would anyone create a game for hippo’s much less one where the hippo’s head snaps across the playing area so that it can consume the most marbles?  Quite frankly, if you threw a marble at a hippo he’d probably walk or float right by it and never give it a second look.  He certainly would not chase it, he doesn’t have that kind of motivation!

All three of my darling grandbabies love this game…….Josh, Kaylee and Eric.  And it doesn’t matter if you don’t want to play this noisy, crazy, silly little game, they have two hands are very willing to play it alone.  There is no escaping the constant clicking of the black handle that makes the plastic mouth snap open on the plastic base as it each hippo tries to consume the most marbles.  It is a “nail across the blackboard” annoying little game.

But I have to share with everyone that Saturday morning Eric sat on the livingroom floor for almost 30 minutes and played this silly little game by himself laughing hysterically.  Belly laughs, the kind that make you laugh just because he is laughing.

Which brings us to the real reason why this game hasn’t mysteriously disappeared, accidentally cracked, or better yet…..the reason the marbles always seem to find their way back into the box and not into the trash.  Because honestly, as much as I’d like to “whack” this loud, silly little game I can’t so I won’t.  If I did I would miss out on hearing the cutest, most genuine laughter and giggles that escape from my grandbabies when they play this obnoxious silly little game.

Which means when Josh, Kaylee and Eric are in their thirties and they bring their children to visit, I would miss out on the opportunity of a life time to share a funny story with my great-grandchildren.  Stories about their daddy or mommy and how they would sit for hours playing a game where hippo’s ate marbles and they thought it was hysterical.  It would be a shame to miss out on that.

So Hungry Hungry Hippo game, you’re safe for now…..thanks to the grandbabies that are here now and the ones that will bless my life in the future.

What’s in jeopardy of getting “whacked” is the recipe I made last night…Broccoli Cheese Tortellini.  I found the recipe on Pinterest which linked to the Taste of Home website and the original recipe by Darlene Brenden – Salem, Oregon;  http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Broccoli-Cheese-Tortellini#.UDsILpeiw31.pinterest.

The recipe sounded pretty good, the dish in the photo looked yummy so I decided to make it.  Maybe it was my “tweaking” but I don’t think so.  I added a little garlic, a pinch of nutmeg but instead of fresh broccoli I used frozen simply because I had it in the freezer.  I think my mistake was switching my tortellini, instead of Risetto Tortellini I used Piernino Tortellini, we didn’t like it, it cooked up tough.  I knew as soon as I opened the bag it was different from Risetto it was my first clue.

On a positive note, Walt liked the sauce, he like the broccoli.  I have to somewhat agree, I’m a little on the fence with the sauce, but it could simply be because the tortellini was so tough I overlooked the taste of the sauce, I’m not so sure I liked the broccoli in the sauce which is odd because broccoli is one of my favorite veggies.  Another plus is that this is a quick prep, quick cook recipe.

I think at some point I may try this again and will follow the directions exactly as written.  I will also purchase my regular tortellini.  Please don’t let our experience keep you from trying it.  If  you do decide to give it a try drop us a little note and let us know how it turned out for you.

Broccoli Cheese Tortellini

Broccoli Cheese Tortellini

Broccoli Cheese Tortellini

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup fresh broccoli florets
  • 2 packages (9 ounces each) refrigerated cheese tortellini
  • 2-1/2 cups shredded Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh parsley

Directions:

  • In a large saucepan, cook cream and broccoli, uncovered, over medium-low heat for 5-6 minutes or until broccoli is crisp-tender.
  • Meanwhile, cook tortellini according to package directions.
  • Stir 2 cups cheese and pepper into broccoli mixture. Bring to a boil.
  • Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 10-12 minutes or until cheese is melted and mixture is thickened, stirring occasionally.
  • Drain tortellini; add to sauce and toss to coat.
  • Sprinkle with parsley and remaining cheese.
  • Yield: 6 servings.
Leave a Reply

