Chicken Grilling Grandma

This week is going by quickly, hard to believe that it’s already Wednesday.  I spent most of yesterday (Tuesday) thinking it was Monday, yes I am going to admit that, but I have a lot on my mind so I am going to chalk it up to that.  It’s hard when you watch a train wreck about to happen before your very eyes and there is absolutely nothing you can do but standby and wait for the crash so you can go in and help, praying that the injuries and damage are minimal and will hopefully leave little or no scars.  But that’s where I am and what it is, so wait I will do which is not easy for me especially when it relates to people I love.

I found out yesterday that my best friend Tina is not moving back to Michigan.  We were hoping that Ken would be able to transfer to Michigan later this year but on Saturday Tina and Ken got the word that the expansion that was hoped for in Michigan would not take place reducing the need to increase full-time personnel.  I am so bummed!!

Although I tried not to get overly excited about the prospect of having Tina back home, secretly I was already planning for their return.  I miss our Thelma and Louise outings and fun times (we’re actually, probably, more like Lucy and Ethel), I miss having my best friend close by all the time but especially during stressful times.  Tina is my buffer, a filter…..the one who says, “let’s think about this” before I say it, write it or post it on Facebook.  I need her a lot these days, my mouth and fingers have been a flying.  But Tina and I will continue as we have been, with our weekly calls sometimes more and our lunches or dinners when she flies in for a quick visit with family.  Although it would be great to have Tina home it’s comforting to know that Tina does “best friend” from a distance better than anyone I know!

Call your best friend today just to say “HI.”

Ok, onto grilling; I grilled again yesterday and yes, it was chicken.  I made Balsamic Glazed Grilled Chicken Breasts and they were very tasty.  I found this recipe on the Betty Crocker website and wanted to give it a try for quite a while, yesterday I decided it was time.  What I liked best about this recipe is that it uses ingredients that I already have on hand.   The pasta salad I quickly put together using veggies from our garden, an ideal side dish making this a perfect summer meal.

So here we go, onto today’s recipe….

Your link right to the recipe; http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/balsamic-glazed-grilled-chicken-breasts/787017d3-c97e-499e-984f-289aeeb018e7

Today  I noted my “tweaking” right in the recipe.

Balsamic Glazed Grilled Chicken Breasts
Photo taken by and property of: N. Rezich

Balsamic Glazed Grilled Chicken Breasts

Glaze Ingredients

1/3 Cup     Brown Sugar

1/3 Cup     Balsamic Vinegar

1 Tbsp.      Fresh chopped Rosemary Leaves

1 Tbsp.      Finely Chopped  Garlic

Chicken ingredients

  • 4  Skin on chicken breast (Note: I used boneless, skin-less breasts)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
Directions:
Heat gas or charcoal grill.
In small bowl, mix glaze ingredients; set aside. (Note:  I brought mine to a boil and simmered for 5 minutes to thicken it up a little)
Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.  (Note: I used Lawry Seasoning Salt)
Place chicken on grill, skin side down, over medium heat
Cook 10 minutes
Turn chicken; brush half the glaze evenly over chicken

Grill chicken
Brush glaze on chicken
Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich

Continue cooking and brushing with remaining glaze 10 to 12 minutes longer or until juice of chicken is clear when thickest part is cut to bone (170°F). (NOTE: I used boneless skin-less breasts – grilled to 180 degrees)

ENJOY!!
Photo taken by and property of N. Rezich

2 thoughts on “Chicken Grilling Grandma

Leave a Reply

