Liebster Award – Thank You

Liebster Award

The Liebster award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. What is a Liebster? The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.

Imagine our surprise, joy and gratitude when we logged into our blog this morning and began to read our messages only to learn that our blog had been nominated for the Liebster Award by Grandmother Musings http://grandmothermusings.com/2012/08/12/the-liebster-award/#comment-1981.  Follow this link to the site, once you visit I know that you’ll love it and like us, you’ll follow to see what Jamie will chat about next.

We became acquainted with and started following Grandmother Musings through 20 Lines or Less.  Like me, Jamie is a wife, mother and grandmother; by profession she is a school teacher, something I wanted to do but ended up in human resources, which I sometimes feel is a dotted line from teaching, well maybe more like the principal.  I digress….We love reading Grandmother Musings, whether she is sharing words of wisdom, parenting advice, recipes, or more it’s always something interesting.  So Jamie, thank you from the bottoms of our hearts for nominating our blog and believing that our family stories and adventures were worthy of this award.

Now down to acceptance business:

  • Answer the questions that the tagger set for you plus create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
  • Choose 11 bloggers and link them in your post.
  • Go to their page and tell them.

OK, step one; answer these 11 questions.  This was harder than I thought it would be.

1. Name a book you would read over and over again?

Children’s Book:  Snowmen At Christmas by; Caralyn Buehner.  Love the fantasy of snowmen who take over the town square on Christmas Eve night, celebrating with ice cream and snow cones while playing freeze tag.  They dance and they sing until they hear the jingle of Kris Kringle’s sleigh; he’s brought them all gifts made out of snow.  Then they gather to sing praise for a new-born King.  It is my favorite children’s Christmas book.

Adult Book: My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  I have many books that I would read over and over again, this one is just too close to the heart, it’s about a child…children.  This story touched me in about 1,000 different ways as a sister, a mother, a mother of twins and a grandmother.  When John and Nikki were young John spent a lot of time in the hospital in an oxygen tent for asthma, although at the time they weren’t sure it was asthma.  His first year alone (1981-1982) John was admitted 13 times before his first birthday and I stayed with him each time, 3-4 days, sometimes longer.

One of those hospital stays was to rule out Reyes’ Syndrome, a new illness and at the time very little information on the causes.  The one thing everyone knew was that there wasn’t a cure and children were dying.  It was difficult to be isolated in a room, waiting, wondering, feeling helpless.  I was scared to death.  Added to that stress and fear was the fact that I had another child, Nikki that I could not be with, it was hard to make a choice between the sick child and the well child, I worried about what the separation from her would do but  I was afraid of what would happen when I wasn’t at the hospital.  It wasn’t fair to Nikki I know this, but I knew she was in good hands, she was with my sister Lee who loved Nikki like her own.  It was a blessing and a relief when Reyes’ Syndrome was ruled out.

Four years ago my brother John and his wife Monica lost their precious little boy DJ to SIDS he was 5 months old.  DJ went to sleep in my brothers arms after a 2:00 a.m. feeding and just stopped breathing.  My brother tried to revive DJ, administering CPR, it didn’t help, DJ was gone.  The fired dept. didn’t even wait for the ambulance to arrive, they took DJ in the fire truck to the hospital.  I’ll never forget arriving at the hospital shortly after they did…..you want it to be a bad dream, a mistake.  When you realize it’s not, you’re overcome with grief, anger, helplessness.  Everyday for John and Monica is a struggle, even after all this time, how could it not be when your left to wonder who DJ would have grown to be.  But through the struggles they have and do become stronger.

I have a more recent reason for identifying with the struggle of life or death of a child.  But it is not my story to tell and I am not sure she is ready to talk about it or have it talked about so openly.  Needless to say this young mother (and the baby’s father) had to make a decision no one should ever have to make for their child, let alone a child who is less than a month old.  My heart goes out to both of them each and every day……..their unselfish decision saved the lives of 13 other babies……how incredible is that??  Justin, just 20 days old is our little hero.

2. If you could have 3 wishes granted, what would they be? 

  • That I live long enough to see our great-grandchildren born; great-great grandchildren would be the ultimate
  • That I could go back in time to November 2007 knowing what I know today and have the ability to intercept the course of events that played out
  • For our children and grandchildren that they live happy, healthy lives with no regrets.

3. Who was your favorite teacher and why?

WoW, I have three, two in college and one in high school, however it wasn’t for my high school English Teacher Mrs. Guerra, I wouldn’t have taken the writing and literature courses that I did in college so the honor really goes to Mrs. Guerra.  My entire life I’ve loved books and reading, it wasn’t until I was in Mrs. Guerra’s Advanced English class that I ever discussed a book.  We read “Lord of The Rings” and everyday we discussed our views, what we thought the author was trying to tell us, relating it to the present, etc.  Her class was my last class for the day and I couldn’t wait to get there.  She is also the person who encouraged me to write, I wish I would have listened more carefully to her advice when I was 17.  For her class we were required to write a short story.  I wrote “The Cashier Hater” it was based on my personal experience as a cashier at a local auto dealership and the events of my first day at work and my first customer, a very irate woman who was upset about the charges on her auto repair bill.  Mrs. Guerra loved my humor, my writing style and my ability to tell the story.  My paper received an A+ and  Mrs. Guerra told me that I should consider writing.  Almost 40 years later I still remember her fondly.

4. Where is your favorite vacation spot?

As of last summer I would have told you it was Cozumel.  A few years ago Walt had to literally push me back onto the ship because I wasn’t leaving.  I even had a job I was going to apply for; keep in mind we were in Cozumel for less than 10 hours and I fell in love.  However, this year we had two “Staycations.”  I have to say not ever having stayed home for a full week let alone two weeks, it was actually quite relaxing and refreshing.  We ate out a lot, had leisurely bbq dinners on our patio with my parents and by ourselves, we went on outings with grandchildren, relaxed and there was no rushing or time schedules involved.  So this year I’ll vote for our backyard.

5. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?

Grocery shopping.  I want to live in an old World War I movie where some kid named Jimmy who wears suspenders, a stripped shirt and a baseball cap arrives at my back door on a bike to deliver my groceries which are packed in a cardboard box and I only have to tip him a dime.

6. What personality traits do you dislike in other people?

I don’t like liars.  I can handle any truth, I may not like what you’re saying, I may disagree, I may be upset for a bit even pout and eventually I come around.  But I cannot and will not accept a lie, any lie for any reason.

7. What is your least favorite mode of transportation?

Tough one….Tina (my bestie) will tell you it’s flying and it’s probably true, but I’m not sure if it takes the number one spot over a bus, still I’ll say flying.  My  favorite…..the train, especially to Chicago.

8. If you could witness any event past, present or future, what would it be?

Hard one, there are several…..Birth of Baby Jesus, I would love to have been witness to the miracle and joy of His birth.

9.  What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?

Only one?  Just kidding….I was 5, always the youngest running around with my sister Lee and her friends who were like 8 and 9.  They wanted to play “Mailman” so we followed Mr. Evans (our mailman, the coolest ever) and after Mr. Evans delivered the mail we….mostly they, followed Mr. Evans, took the mail he had just put in the mailbox out of the mailbox and re-delivered it to other houses.

An older man (funny story, when I married the 1st time, we bought his house when he died), who lived a few houses away from our childhood home saw us and started to chase us.  All the kids, even my sister, threw the mail at me and in my arms and ran, they scattered like the scaredy cats they were and left me, the littlest and the youngest, to get caught.  The man took me home to my parents who were not happy but knew without a doubt that it wasn’t just me.

10.  When you have 30 minutes of free-time, how do you pass the time?

Reading and/or writing.  Starting this little blog has re-peaked my interest in writing so much that I now have notebooks that I keep for blog ideas, short stories, poems and more.

11.  What movie do you flat-out refuse to watch, no matter how good people say it is?

Any movie with Angelina Jolie, do not like her at all.  She is in “The Tourist” with Johnny Depp who I love, I won’t watch it.  The Tourist is the only Johnny Depp movie I haven’t seen.

Questions for my nominations are:

  1. If you were to create a slogan for your life what would it be?
  2. Are you spring, summer, fall or winter?  Why?
  3. What would you most like to be remembered for and why?
  4. What’s your favorite local activity?  Why?
  5. Do you squeeze toothpaste from the top or the bottom?
  6. What is your favorite holiday?  Why?
  7. Use 3 words that describe you using the first letter of your first name.
  8. If you could ask Noah one thing what would it be?
  9. When did you last write a handwritten letter? (Signing a card doesn’t count)
  10. What is your favorite family tradition?
  11. Who do you admire most?

My Nominations are:

  1. 40 is the New 13 http://40isthenew13.wordpress.com/
  2. Simply Sage  http://simplysage.org/
  3. Mi Casita  http://rosesandtomatoes.wordpress.com/
  4. Faithful Leaps  http://faithfulleaps.wordpress.com/
  5. Pammie’s Place:  http://grammiepammie.wordpress.com/
  6. Chica and Bubba:  http://chicaandbubba.wordpress.com/
  7. Find Fabulous:  http://findfabulous.wordpress.com/
  8. T-Fun World:  http://tfunworld.wordpress.com/
  9. Lunch Time Enlightenment:  http://lunchtimeenlightenment.wordpress.com/
  10. Somewhere In The Middle:  http://rebekahdawn.wordpress.com/
  11. Get Write Down To It:  http://getwritedowntoit.wordpress.com/about/

I hope you’ll accept this nomination and if you do please follow the instructions as listed above.  I am anxious to see how everyone responds to their questions and who everyone will nominate as well.  If you decide not to take part, I do understand.

Thank you to everyone who is following our blog and our family adventures, we appreciate your “Likes” and “Recommendations” we love your notes and comments!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Thank You

  1. Congratulations and thank you so very much for the kind words. You and your family are an inspiration and deserve every award that comes your way. Great answers to the questions. I especially agree with your love of Johnny Depp. He is one of my favorites, too! I look forward to a long and exciting blogging friendship with you. Enjoy the day and God Bless. Jamie 🙂

Leave a Reply

