I Knew It Was The Rain

I Knew It Was The Rain

Through an open window

a gentle breeze sneaks in

Drifting

Softly

Lazily

Even before I see it

I know that it is here

It’s right outside

outside my open window

I catch its scent

riding on the breeze

Inconspicuous

Illusive

Subtle

I breathe deeply

It’s there

A familiar scent

Clean

Crisp

Fresh

I go to the window

Confident

Certain

that it’s there

right there

outside my window

And then

I see it

Lightly

Smoothly

Effortlessly

Falling to kiss the ground

Carelessly

Gently

Peacefully

And I smile

because I knew it

I knew it was the rain

I knew all the while

One thought on “I Knew It Was The Rain

Leave a Reply

