Winding Up The Week

Ahhhh….my sense of balance has been restored.  It’s Saturday, a cool 61 degrees, the house is quiet.  In the background, every now and then, I hear music and what sounds like crashing and voices.  It’s faint but I hear them, drifting up from the basement.  I smile, I know Walt is downstairs on the PS3, he’s home, his work schedule back to normal.

An update on the Jalapeno Popper Chicken recipe.  First they reheat really well.  Walt and I both had one chicken breast apiece for lunch.  Since I’m home, I was able to do mine in the oven while Walt had to use the microwave at work.  Both ways of re-heating worked out really well, they are just as delicious reheated as they were on the first day.  In fact Walt sent me a text on his lunch hour telling me how good it was then he even came home with a request from one of the girls he works with, Laura thought it smelled wonderful and looked delicious, she wants the recipe.

As I look over this week’s blog entries, I realize that I’ve only posted two new recipes this week. Sorry about that.  Monday we had dinner out with Joshua at Theo’s, Joshua’s favorite restaurant.  Tuesday I took over the grill and made the Grilled Chicken Fajita’s, Wednesday was spaghetti night and the recipe previously posted, Thursday was the magnificent Jalapeno Popper Chicken, Friday I generally don’t cook, it’s our hit or miss night, left overs, sandwiches and Saturday is usually reserved for pizza night with the grandbabies.

Next week I’ll have more, I promise.  I’m even working on a guest blogger!!!  Woo hoo!!  I’m not going to say who it is just yet.  I’m excited, I’ve been trying to get her do this for a while, today while we were talking on the phone she mentioned that she was making a dish that surprised me, it wasn’t something I’d ever heard her say she made.  So, on Tuesday I’ll go over to her house, watch, take pictures, get the recipe and a little story.

Don’t forget today is Daughter/Son Day…I’ve already sent Nikki and John little messages for today letting them know I’m thinking of them.

Walt and I have the day to ourselves, Lil E is spending the day with his momma, she finally has a day off; Josh and Kaylee are with their momma, they are going to movie night at Karate tonight so we won’t see Josh and Kaylee until later tonight or tomorrow.

I’m sitting in the living room with my lap top writing while watching and listening to the rain.  It’s a gentle rain, you know, one of those rain falls that sounds more like a little breeze than actual rain falling.  You have to look out the window just to make sure your ears haven’t deceived you, but you know it’s rain before you ever even look out the window because the windows are open and the breeze is drifting in shepherding the fresh rain smell into the house.  You can smell the rain long before you actually see it.

Oh I have to share this……Just as I finished typing the last period on that last sentence I could hear Walt walking up the basement stairs.  Before he got to the landing I heard him say, “Hey, it’s raining.”  I answered, “Yes it is but how you would know that you weren’t even in the kitchen yet.” He replied, “I smelled it as I was coming up the stairs.”  I love those moments when we’re in sync.

On that note, I’m going to end here and enjoy my Saturday, listening to the rain.  I might even take a little nap……….

Enjoy your Saturday everyone!!

2 thoughts on “Winding Up The Week

  1. You sound so wonderfully content.
    Mex and I both have the flu now so we didn’t feel like supper.
    Now that I have read your post I am hungry.
    Can I come and live with you?

  2. Hi granny, I am sorry to hear you are still not feeling well, this flu of yours has hung around for a long time, it needs to hit the road! You know granny until you said it, I never thought about it, but you’re right, I am content. Even with difficulties, life is good. I’ve learned to live in and appreciate the present because I can’t change the past no matter how much I may want to. LOL, not sure you really would want to live with us, today’s quiet is rare.

Leave a Reply

