Sneaking Up On Monday…..

Monday is here, Walt will be home all day, his day off after finishing his last Saturday/Sunday schedule, today I think we’re going to take it pretty easy.  After attending a pretty awesome birthday party yesterday Josh came back late last night and is playing Batman on PS3 while Papa Walt is at his ophthalmologist appointment.  It’s days like this that make it so much harder to live with his 12:30 p.m to 9:00 p.m. hours.  Grateful Walt has a job, it just would be nice to have dinner together at a reasonable hour, unfortunately in the business he’s in it doesn’t exist.

I can’t put my finger on it, I’ve not been on any interviews recently, but I have a feeling, you know those gut feelings, that I probably won’t be a stay at home granny very much longer.  I could be wrong, but the feeling is there just the same.  We’ll see won’t we if my psychic powers are any good.  I’m thinking that maybe by the end of September I’ll be gainfully, ok maybe not so gainfully, but I’m open to any employment.

Walking is going well, Little E and I were rained out Saturday, he was the only one willing to go with me.  Unfortunately the rain moved in with thunder and lighting so we stayed in, I knew I should have gone in the morning.  I have to say that I’m enjoying my little stroll through the neighborhood, seeing what people have done with gardening and landscaping.  Sorry to see white bank notices on several front doors and windows.  But hey….we’re coming out of this recession right!?!?  I won’t get on that soap box, at least now anyway.

Besides, walking is where I think and ponder best.  The last few days have brought about a lot to think and ponder about, going for a walk is the one place where I can work things out in my head.  There are two people in my life who are facing a few challenges and obstacles.  Walking is a place with no distractions, no phones, no TV, no computer; quiet time where thoughts come through so much clearer without all the distractions of being indoors.

So far my walks have me clearly believing that for one person’s situation it’s better if I keep my mouth shut and listen for a bit (for now), knowing they will come to me if needed, but staying ever-present, right on the edge of the immediate background, so one word or one nod is all it will take for me to take one leap and I’m all in.  I am finding it hard not to step in, very hard, hurts your heart hard…..my emotions running high, I want and need to protect two people that I love more than life itself, but I will respect her request for now.

I’ve gone in the complete opposite direction with another person, being present, clear and vocal reminding them of the loop and the decisions that got them to where they never want to be again.  Reminding them that this struggle is part of the lesson and a major indicator of which path is the next one to take.  Reminding them that their success lies in how well they are listening to life, learning from mistakes, examining past and present experiences and staying close to those that truly have their best interest at heart.  Gotta love those walks!!

“Simplifying Your Life Week” continues…..I’ve organized my basket making supplies into totes, it’s nice to just look through the side of the tote so I can see where the gift baskets and containers are or which tote has the ribbons, paper and gift bags.  I worked on a few of the kitchen cabinets, lots of wasted space in some of those.  Today I am hoping to convince Walt to go with me to buy a little bookcase for the spare room I would like to get all of the grandbabies books, coloring books, games and what-not off the closet floor and onto shelves.  Now that alone would make grandma’s life much simpler.

This little “Simplify Your Life Week” has now made me want to take each room one by one and tear it apart from top to bottom.  When I mentioned this to Walt on Saturday in front of Eric and Joshua, Eric started to cry (I mean really cry, make grandma feel like crap cry) and said “No grandma please (plllleeeeaaasssee is really how it went)….don’t tear the rooms apart.”  “Where will I come to see you?” “I won’t be able to come sleep here with you.” “There won’t be any walls and no roof.”  After 5 minutes of trying to explain what I meant, I finally just had to agree that I would not “tear the rooms apart.”  My little guy was not getting the whole clean it from top to bottom.  Eric is so sweet, glad he wasn’t worried about where all the toys would go just about how and where he would see me.

Today is “Wiggle Your Toes Day!”  So slip off those shoes, pull off those socks and wiggle those little piggies, who for some probably haven’t had any fun since your momma played “This Little Piggie” on them.

Ok, onto our recipe for today.  My family loves the cheesy potatoes that I make in the oven, I’ve posted them on here previously under “Tatters For Tiffany.”  I generally don’t like to use the oven in the summer, but I have made these potatoes as a side for many family bbq’s.

Recently while skimming through the Betty Crocker on-line recipe site I came across “Grilled Cheesy Potato Packets.”  I’ve actually looked at this recipe about a half-dozen times this summer and passed them up simply because I wasn’t sure how well frozen potatoes would cook on the grill.  Finally last week when we had the rib-eye steaks I made these potatoes to go with them.

Pleasantly surprised were we at how well they turned out and how really tasty they were.  I’m so frustrated with myself for not trying them sooner!  These are quick and easy to make on the grill with very little prep time and really no clean up.  AND…there was no “tweaking” going on either.

Try them and enjoy!!

Here’s the link to the recipe:

http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/grilled-cheesy-potato-packet/f1022b2c-9544-46d9-bafe-54bf8b9be328

Grilled Cheesy Potatoes
Photo By N. Rezich

Grilled Cheesy Potato Packet

What You’ll Need:

4   cups frozen potatoes O’Brien with onions and peppers (from 24-oz bag)

1   tablespoon vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt

3/4 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (3 oz)

Directions:

1.  Heat gas or charcoal grill. Spray 1 (18 x 13-inch) sheet of heavy-duty foil with cooking spray. Place potatoes on center of foil. Drizzle with oil; sprinkle with seasoned salt.

Assemble all ingredients on the foil
Photo by N. Rezich

2.  Bring up 2 sides of foil over potatoes so edges meet. Seal edges, making tight 1/2-inch fold; fold again, allowing space for heat circulation and expansion. Fold other sides to seal.

3.  Place packet on grill over medium heat. Cover grill; cook 30 minutes, turning once. Carefully open packet; sprinkle cheese over potatoes. Cover loosely; let stand 4 to 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Grilled Cheesy Potato Packet
Right off the grill
Photo by N. Rezich

Makes 6 servings

Leave a Reply

