Drunk On Writing

Ray Bradbury, an American science fiction, fantasy, mystery, fiction story writer, best know for penning Fahrenheit 451, once said “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.”  Mr. Bradbury passed away in June of this year, he was 91.I have to say that I completely identify and agree with Mr. Bradbury’s quote.  Writing is not just putting words down on paper, it’s not only the sharing of ideas, stories, instructions, etc.  Writing can be a release, artistic, personal, healing; it can be therapeutic.

We all have our own way of dealing with everything life has thrown in our direction.  Writing about family, telling stories about our adventures and even sharing recipes has, for me, taken the edge off things that have happened to and in our family that I can’t change.  It’s also been a way for me to see that there is so much more of the good things in life going on in our family than the tragic or negative things of the past.

Through this little blog I’ve started to write poetry and have started a few short stories.  A few of the poems I’ve been brave enough to share on here.  Writing relaxes me, blogging gives me a little focus.

I’m going to stay drunk on writing and focus on the good stuff in our lives which far outweighs the bad.  I do it so that I won’t and don’t dwell on the past….so that reality doesn’t destroy me as it has tried to do in the past.  Writing is therapeutic, I think everyone should do it, in what ever format is best for them.

Switching gears…you may have noticed that I have not talked about my commitment to walking for the month of August or about “Simplify Your Life Week.”  I’ve decided to write those under separate entries so that my daily post is not a million words.

Don’t forget, today is National Ice Cream Sandwich Day….have one today!!!

Great recipe for you today “Mike’s Rib-Eyes with Award-winning Rub” taken from Weber’s Charcoal Grilling – The Art of Cooking With Live Fire.

Walt made these Monday night, I don’t think I’ll ever eat another steak other than this one, I am not kidding when I say that the steak melted in your mouth like butter.  I used to laugh when I heard people say that, I now know exactly what they meant.

“Mike’s RIb-Eyes with Award winning Rub

Mike’s Rib-Eyes with Award-Winning Rub

Prep Time:     5 minutes

Grill Time:     8-10 minutes

What You’ll Need:

  • 6 boneless rib-eye steaks, about 12 ounces each and 1 to 1 1/4 inches thick; trimmed of excess fat
  • Vegetable oil

*NOTE:  We only used to rib-eye steaks, so we have rub left over.

The Rub

4 tsp          coarse kosher salt

1 tbsp        coarsely ground black pepper

1 tsp           dried oregano

1 tsp           dried thyme

1 tsp           paprika

1 tsp           minced garlic

In a small bowl mix the rub ingredients

Lightly coat the steaks with oil

Lightly coat steaks with oil

Massage the rub into both sides of each steak

Massage with rub into both sides of each steak

let the steaks sit at room temperature for 20 to 30 minutes before grilling

Directions For:

The Grill:

Prepare a two-zone fire for high heat using enough charcoal so that all 6 steaks can cook over direct heat

Grilling:

Brush the cooking grate clean

Grill the steaks over direct high heat with the lid closed as much as possible until cooked to your desired done-ness, 8 to 10 minutes for medium rare

Grill over direct high heat

Rotate each steak 90 degrees halfway through each side and swapping their positions as needed for even cooking

Remove from the grill and tent loosely with foil

Let rest for 3 to 5 minutes

Serve warm

NOTE:  If flare ups occur, move the steaks temporarily over indirect heat.

Leave a Reply

