Welcoming August……..Simplify Your Life Week August 1 through August 7

Welcome August!!  Your arrival brings some funny and unusual notable days and celebrations so we’ve decided to have a little fun with them as the month progresses.Officially, unofficially the month of August is:

  • Admit You’re Happy Month
  • Family Fun Month
  • National Catfish Month
  • National Eye Exam Month
  • National Golf Month
  • Peach Month
  • Romance Awareness Month
  • Water Quality Month
  • National Picnic Month

Today August 1st is: National Raspberry Cream Pie Day

First week of August Is: August 1 through August 7, 2012 is National Simplify Your Life Week!

Well that could fun, simplify your life for a week…..pick a few things you’d like to change and stick to it for the week, they’ll probably become routine after the week is up.

Here is our Day 1 project for simplifying our lives:

Message Center
Get Organized 2012

We’re going to use this area for messages and things we don’t want to forget. Right now we leave little messages on the kitchen table or taped to the refrigerator and when we really want to make sure the other person doesn’t miss our note we tape the note over the lock of the door so that you can’t get your key in to open the door…..there is no way you’re going to miss that note!! The bonus of having this chalk board?  I found a chalk board that has an area for three photo’s so my babies are always in the kitchen with me.

Some may think that this doesn’t fall into “Simply Your Life” but it does.  I am also starting a walking regime today….there, it’s in writing so I can’t talk myself out of it now. I am going to start out with at least 15 minutes a day and try to work up to 30 by the end of the week. There was a time when I walked 5 miles a day, that was before Walt and I got married and he moved here.

I walked twice a day, 2.5 miles each time, I walked during my lunch hour and then again in the evening when I got home. I loved it, Walt is not a walker so it was easier for me to slip into his non-walking routine than for him to slip into mine. To be honest….I really do like walking alone, I don’t know what it is about being alone but I manage to work out a lot of what’s on my mind during those walks.

As Simplify Your Life week continues, each day I’ll give a little update in our blog about what we’ve done to simply our life that day.  I’ve picked some really easy projects for two reasons, one because I didn’t want to discourage myself before I even get started and two because they are pretty easy they seem to be the ones that we say “oh, we’ll get to it” and then we don’t. That is, after all, the whole point of this fun little week. I’m hoping to that maybe even after the first week, we’ll just take one day at a time and get little projects completed.

Will you join us and have some fun with us this week……….What can you do to SIMPLIFY YOUR LIFE?

Leave a Reply

