Knocking Off Two “National Foodie” Days With One Recipe

Good morning everyone…. so we’re over the Monday hurdle here we are already at Tuesday, let’s keep the momentum moving!

Glad the storms have moved out, it was a pretty interesting morning here.  I woke up around 4:30 a.m. to the sound of thunder and a strange flopping noise outside our bedroom window.  Not knowing what it was I looked out the bedroom window and saw an aqua and white rectangle flying around the yard, took me a minute to realize it was the kiddie pool.  Unfortunately I had to wake up Walt so we could run out and secure the pool and bring in the patio chair cushions before the rain fell.  The storms have moved out for now, we’ll see if the ones predicted for later today pass us by.

Did you celebrate National Cheesecake Day yesterday?  We did!  Now I know what some of you might be thinking….”Sunday the woman wouldn’t turn on the oven for Lasagna Day, but she turns it on for cheese cake day.”  Ok, so you have a point…a little one.  Lasagna can take 45 minutes to an hour, the little cheesecake cupie cakie thingies I made yesterday only baked for a half hour.  And come on people, it’s cheesecake!!  It wasn’t going to weigh anyone down on a hot day.  That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.

Besides, things with the little “Cupid’s Cherry Cheesecakes” (by Kraft) didn’t go as well as it should have.  The centers of my little cheese cakes caved.  Not just a little…a lot.  Most resembled a bowl, one shrunk up so bad it looked like someone sucked the air out of it.

Look…it’s a little nest!

I have been baking for over 40 years and have NEVER had a dessert not come out the way it was supposed to.

I was so frustrated that without even waiting (I regret that instant reaction now) to taste them I rated it, gave them one star and a negative response on this recipe.  Imagine my surprise late last night when I went back into the site and they actually posted my HORRIBLE response!  My one star response is one of four out of 93.  That means that 89 other bakers gave this recipe a four or five-star rating.  Even those that claimed they’ve never baked did a much better job at these than I did.

Of course Walt, trying to help, said he thought they were suppose to sink in the middle so you can put the fruit in.  I am sure they were suppose to sink a little, just not enough to hold a cup of soup.  Walt was trying to make me feel better about it I love him for that.

When I started this blogging journey I promised that I would share the good and the bad with any new recipe we were trying.  So I am…..something I did in the baking process made them sink in the center.  Maybe I put more batter in the cup than I should have or maybe it had something to do with the temperature variance when I opened the oven for the last 30 minutes (as I was instructed to do) and/or the fact the house was cold because the air conditioning was on.  I really don’t know, but something I did in the process made a little well in the center.

We did eat the cheesecake and to be fair, they were very good.  Even though the recipe calls for cherries, I cut up some strawberries and mixed them with a little sugar and did the same with a strawberries/raspberry combination for Walt then refrigerated them for a few hours.   I had to get raspberries in there for “National Raspberry Cream Pie Day” which is later this week so Walt had the combo and we passed on the cherry topping.

After dinner I spooned strawberries over mine and the raspberry/strawberry mixture over Walt’s (I guess it was really into, not onto) and they were pretty tasty.  Actually the were more than tasty, they were sweet and very good.  Walt wanted a second one but opted out only because we had just finished a big dinner.

Cheesecake

Because I have Catholic school girl guilt, even at my age, I will go back into the Kraft site and make an adjustment to my original negative post.  All I could think of all night was hurting someone’s feeling even while rationalizing that it’s a cooking website for heaven sake.

We have some great recipes coming up for you this week and we can’t wait to share them; homemade sloppy joes, grilled rib eye steaks and Cheesy O’Brien Potatoes on the grill!!  I may even get Walt to chat about a Michigan brewed Cherry Beer he tried yesterday!

For now I will leave you with this recipe from Kraft Recipes.  If you try these little cheesecakes let us know how they turned out for you.

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/recipeallratings.aspx?recipe_id=55259&ct=1&pg=8

Cupid’s Cherry Cheesecakes 

What You’ll Need:

12              NILLA Wafers
2 pkg.       (8 oz. each) PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened
3/4 cup    sugar
2                eggs
3/4 cup    cherry pie filling (I used fresh strawberries and raspberries)

Directions:

PREHEAT oven to 350°F.  Place 1 wafer in bottom of each of 12 paper-lined medium muffin pan cups; set aside.

BEAT cream cheese and sugar in small bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, 1 at a time, mixing just until blended after each addition.  Spoon evenly into prepared muffin cups, filling each cup 2/3 full.

BAKE 30 minutes. Turn off oven; open oven door slightly. Let stand in oven 30 minutes. Remove from oven; cool completely. Top with pie filling.  Refrigerate at least 1 hour before serving.  Store leftover cheesecakes in refrigerator.

ENJOY!!

2 thoughts on “Knocking Off Two “National Foodie” Days With One Recipe

  1. If you try them again, maybe lower the oven temp a little bit. I think the Nilla wafer on the bottom and with strawberries on top would be awesome! Can’t wait to make these (I’ll use a 300F degree oven and see if that helps them from sinking).

Leave a Reply

