Routine Interupted….

 

I have been sitting here at the kitchen table for over an hour trying to decide what to talk about today and cannot believe how “off” I feel.  As I played around with ideas, I became increasing aware of how quiet the house is, my concentration is off, I feel scattered a little jittery, up and down and up and down….maybe that one has to do with the fact that I’m the only one drinking this pot of coffee this morning.

Walt is working today, I know that this is the source of my “off” feeling.  Not only is he working on a Saturday, something he hasn’t done in well over three years, he is working 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. which are not his normal hours.  I watched Walt pull out of our driveway this morning at 7:15 a.m. thinking I would/could lay back down for a bit.  Yea, right, 5 minutes of that then I was up and the coffee was brewing, the computer was logging on and now….and hour and a half later, here I sit with my cup of coffee and lap top.

I know what it is, my routine is off.  I know what routine means but decided to look up the word on Webster’s  On-Line Dictionary to see if I could gather some inspiration for today’s blog.  I had to laugh, not at the meaning of the word but at the very first example they give for routine:

Routine (Webster’s On Line Dictionary)  Example:  Grandma gets upset if we change her routine.

Well this grandma is not upset, things just feel……well….they just feel kind of “off.”  I don’t know how to describe it.  My internal clock says it’s Saturday, Walt should be outside cutting grass while inside I make the bed, unload the dishwasher from last night and run my usual Saturday errands for fruits, veggies and meats.

The odd part of this whole thing is that the house would normally be quiet like this on a Saturday even if Walt was here because by now he would be outside.  It’s really Walt’s absence that I feel, I know that physically he is not here and I think that’s what’s really thrown me off.  The difference is that I can’t go outside to ask him a question or talk to him and he won’t be in and out of the house.

Funny isn’t it that it’s easier to adjust having Walt underfoot on days that he would normally work but is home than it is to adjust to him working on a day that he would normally be here.  Well, he’ll be home in about eight hours so I need to make sure that I don’t let this “off” feeling screw up my routine entirely.

On that note I’ll leave you with a quickie recipe, it’s how I saute peppers and onions for our grilled Italian sausages.

Sautéed Pepper and Onions

Sautéed Peppers and Onions

What You’ll Need:

1              Large Sweet Onion

1              Red Pepper

1              Orange Pepper

1              Yellow Pepper

Lawry’s Seasoning Salt

3 tbsp     Butter     (More depending on the amount of veggies you use)

1 tbsp.     Worcestershire Sauce (More depending on the amount of veggies you use)

Directions 

  • Peel onion – cut in half – and slice
  • Slice peppers open – clean out inside and wash
  • Cut each pepper into half, then cut the half in half
  • Slice the peppers

Sliced Peppers and Onions

  • Melt butter in a large pan
  • Add sliced peppers and onion
  • Season with Lawry’s seasoning
  • Let peppers and onion saute for about 5 minutes
  • Add Worcestershire Sauce over peppers and onions (you can use more)
  • Cook an additional 5-10 minutes depending on how crisp or soft you want your peppers

 

2 thoughts on “Routine Interupted….

  1. Sweetheart I know EXACTLY what you are talking about. A tragic accident has taken the life of mt heart and soul early this week. I am living out of a laundry basket bouncing around between children’s houses. I know that Walt wants to be home with you as much as you want him to be home. Much love to you.

Leave a Reply

