Grandma Takes Over The Grill

Hello family, friends and fellow bloggers.

What a gorgeous morning here in Michigan, I really hope the rain we’ve been told we are going to get will just pass us by.  The only thing preventing it from being a perfect morning to sit outside with my coffee and computer are the guys on the roof of the house behind my neighbor.   Their hammering and idle chit-chat slice through my thoughts and daydreams as I sit on my hidden, almost always quiet little patio retreat.

Do you know the game “Telephone?”  You tell one person something and by the time it gets to the end of the line the original story has changed, sometimes so much that it doesn’t even resemble what was originally said.

I feel that way about my family and the whole grilling thing.  Yes Walt has become the grill master, hands down, he creates masterpieces on the grill.  However, Walt wasn’t always around.  What happened to all the times I grilled for family and friends when I lived in Irish Hills or on the balcony of my apartment?  Better yet, what about the family BBQ’s we had when I first moved into this house?  BEFORE Walt and I wandered back into each others lives.

Some how when the subject of grilling comes up everyone associates Walt with grilling, completely forgetting that they had ever had a grilled meal here pre Walt.   Walt has done all of the grilling for the last 9 years.  Quite frankly it’s because of two things, one I am not comfortable with the charcoal grill that he loves but I bet if I pay more attention the next time he uses that one I’m sure it would be a piece of cake for me.

Two….well, the gas grill is another story.  When I was the person in charge of grilling I had a gas grill about the size of a kiddie one; one burner,very compact.  However, after one or two BBQ’s on the little one and several run-away hot dogs and burgers….Walt went out and bought one that was almost as tall as I am and four times longer than the one I originally had and that’s just the cooking space.  So….yes, I will admit that I am somewhat intimidated by the larger grill.

Every year I patiently wait out the winter and early spring for Walt to pull out the grill.  Unfortunately though, even in the summer, with this job and Walt’s hours we’ve gone from grilling every day in the summer to grilling on weekends only.

But no more family and friends.  While planning our weekly menu a couple of weeks ago and getting my grocery list together I decided that one day a week I am going to use that big ole gas grill and last week I did!!  All by myself.

Remember about a month ago when I tried to grill chicken and Grill Master came home and took over? Making a fuss about tongs and timers?  This time I made sure I was well into grilling before Walt got home.  I purposely planned for a really hot day knowing that Walt would want to shower first before we had dinner.

I went through my cookbooks (not his) in search of tasty recipes with little prep time and found “Chili Barbecued Chicken” in my Pillsbury Grilling book..copyright 2003 by the Pillsbury Company.

TADA…….

Chili Barbecued Chicken
The Pillsbury Company
2003

 

Looks delicious right?  THANKS!!  Walt said it was tasty and moist, it wasn’t burnt or over charred.  I served it with “My Mom’s Yellow Potato Salad” (previously posted) and Walt loved it!!

The ice is broken, a little self-confidence injecteted….at least once a week we’ll enjoy MY BBQ!!!

Today I leave you with the recipe which by the way, I also found on-line yesterday!!  I wanted an easy way to cut and paste the recipe so I took a chance, did an internet search and there it was.  Unfortunately the cutting and pasting didn’t work out, I had to type it anyway….bummer.  Here is the link to the Pillsbury site:   http://www.pillsbury.com/recipes/chili-barbecued-chicken/c9249069-3ac4-4d6d-a5bc-9a8f79ce2235/#

Chili Barbecued Chicken

Chili barbecued Chicken
Mom’s Yellow Potato Salad

Chili Barbecue Sauce                               

1  Cup          Chili Sauce (I used Heinz)

1/2 Cup       Finely chopped onion

2 Tbsp         Brown Sugar

1 clove         Garlic – minced

1 tsp             Chili powder

1 tsp             Paprika

2 Tbsp         Lemon juice

1 Tbsp          Worcestershire sauce

Chicken

3 to 3.5 lbs. chicken pieces (I used 1.5 lbs of bone-less, skin-less chicken breasts)

Directions Sauce:

  • In a small saucepan combine all sauce ingredients; mix well and heat

Grilling

  • Heat Grill
  • When grill is ready place chicken over medium heat
  • Grill 40-50 minutes until chicken is tender and juices run clear
  • During the last 15 minutes of grilling, brush with sauce and turn frequently
  • Bring any remaining sauce to a boil and serve with chicken
  • ENJOY!!!!

NOTE:  This can also be prepared in the oven.  Bake chicken in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.  If using chicken pieces put the pieces in the baking dish skin side down.  After 30 minutes remove most of the pan juices and turn chicken over – bake an addition 15 to 25 minutes until the chicken is fork tender and the juices run clear.  Brush with sauce during the last 15 minutes of baking.

Leave a Reply

